Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Kale Protein Shake Recipe

on August 25, 2012

 

kale protein shake

My hubby and I have been making protein shakes for breakfast for about the last 6 months.  We started out putting Spinach in them, which is great.  I love spinach.  But have you heard about the health benefits of kale?  It is the most nutrient dense of all the veggies!!  It’s packed with vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and fiber.  Why wouldn’t you want to start your day with that?

One cup of kale has only 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, 180% of your recommended daily requirement of Vitamin A, 200% of Vitamin C, and 1,020% of Vitamin K, according to WebMD .

Carotenoids and flavonoids are the antioxidants that have been are touted with reducing your risk of cancer.  There are over 45 different flavonoids in kale.  In addition to the antioxidants and the anti-cancer nutrients in the form of glucosinolates, there are also anti-inflammatory nutrients.  It will turn the ordinary protein shake into a powerhouse breakfast!!

So enough about kale, let’s get to the recipe ….

2 scoops chocolate protein powder (I prefer the cookies and cream flavor)

1 Tbsp ground flax seeds

1 Tbsp PB2 (optional)

1/2 banana (optional)

1 cup frozen blueberries (or other fruit of your choice)

2 cups kale  (YES!)

about 1 cup water

about 1 cup ice, or enough to get it to your desired consistency

Throw all the ingredients in the blender and blend til smooth.

Makes 2 servings.

ingredients

I think frozen blueberries are best because they change the color of the shake to a brown-ish purple.  Especially, if you are trying to sneak the kale in on your unsuspecting spouse.  If you don’t mind the green color, frozen strawberries work well too.  Probably any frozen fruit would be good, but I try to stay away from those that are high on the glycemic index such as mangoes or pineapples.  Don’t get me wrong, I love mangoes and pineapples.  I have them occassionally.

frozen bananas

Quick tip on bananas –  If you have some on your counter that are about to get brown, just peel them and throw them in the freezer.  Being frozen actually helps the consistency of the shake.

Bananas are also high on the glycemic index, meaning they create a spike in your blood sugar levels.  We don’t do bananas every day, but if we do, we limit it to 1/2 a banana per 2-shake recipe.

Two secret ingredients.  PB2 adds that PB flavor without all the fat and calories.  And flaxseeds give you the Omega-3s you need.  I could probably write a whole post on Flaxseeds too.  Love these things!

kale protein shake

You could probably throw in any veggie.  Once it gets blended, you don’t even know it’s there.  In fact, my hubby slipped eggplant in there and I didn’t even know it.

Blend and enjoy!!  :)

11 responses to “Kale Protein Shake Recipe

  1. [...] Because it's all about the journey, not the destination. « Fun Questionnaire Kale Protein Shake Recipe » Aug [...]

  2. Jenn-O says:

    I’ll have to try out using kale instead of spinach. I’ve been making blueberry smoothies and love them.

  3. [...] per usual, the day started off with a kale shake.  What was different about it today, though, was that it was hubby’s shake from yesterday [...]

  4. jigglybitch says:

    Thank you! I’m so going to try!

  5. [...] breakfast this morning, I had the usual kale shake.  I forgot to take a picture of it til I was sitting at my desk.  The hubs made it extra good [...]

  6. [...] it’s getting colder outside, it’s harder to have a kale protein shake for breakfast.  I’m shivering by the time I get to work.  Even with heated seats!  (which, [...]

  7. [...] time:  I have a new favorite.  Move over Kale Protein Shakes, there’s a new breakfast in town.  Egg sandwiches.  And this is coming from a girl who [...]

  8. [...] a 90-minute drive to a client’s office for open enrollment meetings.  So I enjoyed my usual kale shake on the way.  (With my seat warmers on, of [...]

  9. [...] And I am very motivated to keep it up right now.  So I started the day with one of my famous Kale Protein Shakes.  These are seriously my favorite breakfast.  High in protein, high in vitamins, and very [...]

  10. Luke Aubin says:

    Do you use the bodyfortress protein regularly? I notice you spent the money on PB2, and I’m not implying your cheap by any means, but if you want the most bang for your buck go spend the money on a quality whey protein (or substitue ie soy, rice, pea etc)

    Bodyfortress is cheap for a reason, more filler, sugars and LESS protein, it all has to do with testing during production but a quality whey is a much better (and safer) alternative, http://r1—sn-jc47eu7r.c.youtube.com/videoplayback?app=youtube_gdata&devkey=AX8iKz393pCCMUL6wqrPOZoO88HsQjpE1a8d1GxQnGDm&el=videos&upn=aA8MO9mT1ho&uaopt=no-save&source=youtube&itag=18&id=497c96d017b78293&ip=0.0.0.0&ipbits=0&expire=1365184468&sparams=id,itag,source,uaopt,upn,ip,ipbits,expire&signature=73A8CE1C05B49EBD2D17227469E1716B9D05165F.86B8468EA246AFFFBE2E9400AD188340AAC676E1&key=yta2&ms=tsu&newshard=yes&mv=m&mt=1365155645&cms_redirect=yes&redirect_counter=2one of many videos explaining the difference!

    Great recipe by the way, ill try it right now! Awesome blog too! Keep up the great work!

    • You make a really excellent point. The Body Fortress brand is affordable and accessible (sold at my Kroger), so I’ve never really gone looking for a different brand. But I don’t want the fillers or the extra sugar in there. I believe I’ll go to GNC today to test out some higher quality proteins. Thanks for your comment!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

