Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Weekend Recap: Ice Storm and Warm Weather

on January 29, 2013

We woke up to an ice storm on Friday morning.  The freezing rain produced icy conditions which prevented us from leaving the house.  Schools were closed and with my hill of a driveway, there was no way I could get to work  (Yay!!)

the grill

Doesn’t the 4Runner look mean with icicles hanging off it?

icicles

So we stayed in our pajamas most of the day!!  The kids had fun playing with play doh ….  (why does that stuff have to make such a MESS!?!)

playdoh

While I made a crockpot of White Chicken Chili for dinner.

Yum!

My recipe is adapted from a local restaurant.  But I apparently can’t ever leave an original recipe alone.  All my recipes look like this …  marked up.

chili recipe

And the end result ….  YUM!!!

bowl of chili

I also took the day off as an opportunity to get in a really good treadmill workout while watching The Biggest Loser.

treadmill

 

fog

Hubby made me eggs for breakfast ….

eggs

Breakfast

The temperature rose quickly and melted all the ice so we were no longer stuck inside.  Which was great since we had plans to go out for my Aunt’s birthday.

L with Gregg

We went to Aubrey’s, which is a great local restaurant.  In fact, the same people own Aubrey’s that own Sunspot, which is another one of my favorites.  So when I saw Salmon BLT on the menu, I sure hoped it was exactly like the one at Sunspot.  If you’ll remember, Hubby and I ate there on New Years Eve before our concert.

salmon blt

Unfortunately, it wasn’t the same.  While the salmon was tasty, I was disappointed in the bread.  If I pay $12 for a sandwich at a restaurant, I expect it to not be on the same bread I can buy at the grocery store.

But the sweet potato fries were really good.  (That’s something they don’t have at the Sunspot)!

salmon 2

The kids had fun, and we discovered how much my daughter LOVES honey mustard.  She was dipping fries in honey mustard and sucking it off.  LOL  She may as well have just drank it from the ramekin.

laughing

To celebrate my Aunt’s birthday, I made Magic Cookie Bars.

Nothing special about them, really.  I just went through a cookbook til I found a recipe with ingredients I had on hand.

Magic Cookie Bars

Butter, graham crackers, sweetened condensed milk, chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.  That’s all.  Nothing healthy about it.

playing together 1

My kids were so good to play together all weekend.  Makes for a happy Mommy!!  🙂

kids 2

I’ll leave you with a picture of my lunch on Sunday.

wrap1

Egg Wrap.  Kinda like an egg salad but without the mayo!  YUM!!

egg wrap 2

Sunday was a super lazy day.  But that’s how I like them!!

What a wonderful, unexpected 3-day weekend.  I could seriously get used to those!  Back to the grind on Monday.  😦


5 responses to “Weekend Recap: Ice Storm and Warm Weather

  1. amazz13 says:

    Love the Family time!! The Kids are so cute!
    I nominated you for the liebster award! Check out my blog for details and if you are interested I can e-mail you a set of questions.

  2. Oh man, that chicken chili looks fandamntastic!!!! We got hit with a few inches of snow and then ice on top of that, so my kids were out of school yesterday and today…REALLY hoping they are going back tomorrow!!!!

  3. Mmmm, sweet potato fries! I can never resist getting those when I restaurant has them and I’m totally with you on the bread. Give me something special! Glad you enjoyed your grown-up “snow day.”

Leave a comment