Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Crustless Quiche with Kale

on June 19, 2012

Tonight’s dinner was delicious.  And I basically just threw it together.  I found a recipe for Crustless Quiche on Pinterest.  (Yes, I am addicted, thank you very much).

But I didn’t have most of the ingredients it called for like frozen spinach and mushrooms.  (Yes, that would have been good).

But what I did have was kale and red pepper.  So, I improvised.  (I usually consider recipes to be more of a suggestion anyways.)

First, I sauteed about 2 cups of fresh kale with chopped red pepper, chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic.

image

image

In another bowl, I mixed up 5 whole eggs with 1 cup cow’s milk and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese.  (Though, I’m sure egg whites, goat’s milk and feta would have worked just as well).

Then I mixed it all up in one bowl and added in a few spices:  sea salt, ground pepper, basil and oregano.

image

I poured it in a greased pie pan and baked @ 350 for 45 minutes.

image

Served with roasted red potatoes and a little red wine. 🙂

YUM!  Even my 7-year said it was delicious!!

2 responses to “Crustless Quiche with Kale

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    OK – that didn’t work. Again: Not so fond of Kale, but do like crustless quiches – will try kale one more time 🙂

Leave a Reply

