Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

No Two Smoothies Are Ever Alike

on July 2, 2012

What do you do when you run out of spinach??  You can’t make a “green monster” without spinach … or can you??

image

Let me introduce you to kale. It’s a wonderful leafy green veggie in the cabbage family.  Did you know it’s the most nutrient-dense of all the veggies??
In fact, one cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, 180% of the daily recommended dose of Vitamin A, 200% Vitamin C, and 1,020% Vitamin K.  It’s the carotenoids and flavonoids that specifically reduce your risk of cancer.
(Source: WebMd)

image

So add kale whenever possible.  You won’t even taste it in the smoothie. 

image

image

In fact, I liked it better than the spinach.
Bye bye spinach,  Hello kale!

image

Even my two year-old couldn’t get enough of the kale shake.  She loved it. And you will too!

3 responses to “No Two Smoothies Are Ever Alike

  1. onixj says:

    ooh Kale I am a lil scared of trying Kale not sure why lol but this smoothie sounds interesting.. thanks! might adventure into the kale forest lol

  2. I may need an affidavit from your two-year old before I stick anything green in my smoothie, but I’ll admit that it LOOKS pretty yummy!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • LOL!! She can’t talk yet, but if she could, she would tell you she loves them!! My 7-year old, on the other hand, won’t go near them, but that’s only because he knows what’s in them!

Leave a Reply

