Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Challenge Accepted!

on July 10, 2012

I’m usually pretty competitive person.  So when someone presents me with a challenge, I have a hard time declining.  So when a co-worker decided it was time for a little wellness challenge, I’m all in.
(We did this last summer for about 6 weeks but with too many rules).

This time the rules are simple: keep net carbs under 70g for 70 days.  Since I already avoid all white flour, sugary and starchy foods, I figure this should be a breeze, right?  Not so fast. As I look back in my food diary, I realize that even in all the healthy eating I do, I was still exceeding 100g of carbs every day, even if they were the so-called “good carbs”.

It’s going to require everyone to be vigilant about recording every morsel they put in their mouth. I use a wonderful tracking tool called My Fitness Pal.  You can either download the free app onto your smart phone. Or, just go to http://www.myfitnesspal.com.  (My username is katiedaisy if anyone wants to be buddies).

The challenge starts tomorrow.  Anyone else want to do it too?  Oh, I forgot to say that if you go over 70g, you owe a dollar to the pot!  One dollar per day.  Could get pretty expensive for some.  At the end of the 70 days, those who had the most days under 70g split the pot. I’m planning on being one of those people.  Like I said, I’m competitive.  🙂

2 responses to “Challenge Accepted!

  1. Run Eat Play says:

    That sounds like a good challenge! I count calories and protein, but I have never counted my carbs, now I’m interested to see how many I eat!
    Good luck!

  2. […] Ok – remember that Carb challenge we had at work?  Well, it’s over.  I had to pay $24 into the pot when it was all said and […]

Leave a Reply

