Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday

on July 11, 2012

I found another fun program in this blogosphere world that I want to participate in. Called ‘What I Ate Wednesday’.  So here is my first #waiw post.


(From the blog: Peas and Crayons)Today was also the first day of the Low Carb Challenge at work.

For breakfast, I still had the usual kale shake but this time we eliminated the banana, since bananas are high in carbs.  It still included chocolate protein powder, flax seeds, Chia seeds, frozen blackberries and kale.

The shake filled me up so much that I wasn’t really hungry for lunch till about 1pm.  I didn’t have time to pack any lunch this morning so I ran over to Food City to make myself a salad.

image

Pretty, right?
Includes spinach leaves, mushrooms, grape tomatoes, olives, and banana peppers with some balsamic vinaigrette for dressing. I couldn’t resist a little scoop each of broccoli salad and crab salad.  Low carb, for sure.
Here’s an interesting thing about salad dressing … the “Lite” dressings are high in carbs. I used to eat Fat Free Honey Mustard all the time because I thought that was the “healthy” option.  Well I’ve learned that lesson and now I choose either oil and vinegar or a regular balsamic vinaigrette.

For dinner, I was concerned about reaching my carb limit.  So I chose to make a meat loaf with ground turkey.  I added less breadcrumbs than usual, more veggies and no ketchup.  It was delicious.  Maybe I’ll post the recipe another day. (If I remember it).  🙂

image

Served with some steamed broccoli and cauliflower (topped with a little parmesan cheese and garlic) for a nutritious side dish.

After logging everything into My Fitness Pal, I came up with 1104 calories, 71 total carbs, 15g fiber, for a net carb total of 56g, which was well under my goal!  Yay!

One response to “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. NS says:

    I’ll have to see what you ate. I just get soooo bored of adding every little thing, 1/2 beet, 1/2 apple, kale, spinach, 1/2bell pepper (you get the point, haha) throughout the day. I’d like to cut down on my carb intake… maybe you’ll inspire me on MFP 🙂

Leave a Reply

