Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Today’s WOD

on July 12, 2012

 

I was in the mood for a hard and fast workout. You know the kind – your heart is about to beat out of your chest, the sweat is dripping down your nose, and your lungs are on fire.  Crossfit-style.  Love it.

I’ve visited a couple of CF boxes and I love the competitive atmosphere, and the comraderie that follows. However, at this point in my life, it’s just not feasible to join right now (full-time job, 2 small kids and only one income), but I hope to in the future. (Who knows I may even decide to open my own box- lol).

So for now, I’m fine with doing WODs on my own.  Every morning I look to see what the WOD is on the mainpage, and sometimes I just get inspired.

My husband and I have been piecing together a home gym.  First we found a squat rack.

image

Then we bought an Olympic bar with weights.  Then we bought a nice 1″ foam mat for the floor.

And then he built us a box.  20″x24″x28″.

image

So here is tonight’s workout:

5 rounds, for time:
10 burpees
10 pushups
10 pullups
10 box jumps
10 sit ups
10 air squats

Lungs were burning.  Check!  Sweat dripping.  Check!  Heart Pumping.  Check!  Mission accomplished.

Then we finished off the day with a little Yoga X from P90X.

One final note:  As much as I love the WordPress app, I don’t love the pictures that my phone takes.  I love that I was able to post this entire blog from my phone, start to finish, pictures and all.  But I do apologize for the quality of the photos.

5 responses to “Today’s WOD

  1. Kimberley says:

    Awesome! My hubby is in the process of adding a plyo box to my little fitness room, too. Love it!

  2. We have a home gym as well…nice set up u have

    • Thanks! We think we want one more bar to stay on the floor for deadlifts, just so I don’t have to take the weights off and on everytime. And a medicine ball. What else would you suggest we get? What do you have in your home gym?

      • We have a power rack w/ a lat pulldown attachment as well as a pulley for seated rows & a bar up top for chins. Also 100lb heavy bag, treadmill, 20 & 50lb dumbells. Kettlebells 20, 30, 40 and 60. Free bench w/ preacher and leg ext attachment. another adjustable free bench that can be declined. If you are on instagram seach transformationpics or fb seach transformationpics.com we have shots of us working out in our home gym

  3. […] and quite a bit of effort but it totally paid off.  We now have a home gym set up down there.  Pics here.  And it’s still a work in […]

Leave a Reply

