Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Meatless Monday

on July 16, 2012

I started the day the same way I start every day… with a kale shake. I never used to be a breakfast person. That is, until we started doing protein shakes in the morning. It really is the perfect breakfast – plenty of vitamins and nutrients, antioxidants, and protein. It keeps me full for hours.   (I didn’t take a pic of it so you’ll just have to use your imagination.  If you’ve seen one kale shake, then you’ve seen them all.)

I don’t usually go out for lunch, but today I made an exception since there was a new employee starting today.  It’s tradition to take new employees out to lunch on their first day.

image

That salad is from Brixx.  Who knew they had great salads?  I thought all they had was pizza and beer. They actually have some great lunch specials.

Isn’t it beautiful?  It’s the Mediterranean Salad but I asked them to substitute the romaine lettuce for spinach and hold the dressing.  (And no, I did not eat the bread!  I wanted to, I had a little nibble to see what it tasted like – delicious – but I didn’t eat it.  Are you proud of me??)  🙂

By dinnertime, I was starving. Thankfully I had gone to the grocery store before we left for the mountains. So I had plenty of fresh veggies to choose from.   I sauteed some zucchini, onions and mushrooms with fresh garlic for a wrap.

I found these low carb wraps so I thought I’d try them out. They only have 5 net carbs per wrap. Only problem is… the consistency is weird. Perhaps I could get used to it. I’m not sure.

I tried something a little different tonight and I spread this spinach dip on first before adding my veggies.

Zucchini, onion, mushrooms, garlic, jalapenos, and spinach. And of course, feta cheese. So glad cheese doesn’t have carbs. YUM.

Question:  have you tried low-carb wraps?  Or low-carb bread?  Is there a brand that is better than another or do they all pretty much have that same funny taste?

Leave a Reply

