Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Saturday Morning Ride in the Mountains

on July 16, 2012

image

Before we had kids, one of our favorite things to do together was to go biking.  If you’ll remember on Friday, I was trying to decide exactly how we should make the most of this kid-free weekend.  So we decided to go biking!  We woke up early Saturday morning, loaded the bikes up and and headed out to Cades Cove in the Great Smoky National Park to do some biking.

biking at cades cove

They close the loop off on Wednesday and Saturday mornings till 10 am to allow bikers and hikers the opportunity to enjoy the little one-lane road with no cars and no exhaust fumes.
It was quite foggy and mostly cloudy, which made for a wonderfully cool ride.

foggy morning at cades cove

deer at cades cove

We saw plenty of deer, turkeys and other wildlife.  But no bears.  Not this time.

cades cove

It is so beautiful there.

biking at cades cove

That’s hubby in front of me.

The first half of the ride is nice and mostly flat, but towards the end it gets really hilly. I am proud to say that I killed those hills.  I took those hills with a vengance. I got to the top of the last hill and I thought my heart might explode it was beating so fast. I even had a slight twinge of nausea. I waited on my hubby at the bottom of the hill while I caught my breath. He then informed me that I missed seeing a huge 14-point buck, as well a field full of butterflies. Oh well.  I guess that’s the risk you take when you’re chasing that anaerobic high.  (Do you know the feeling I’m talking about?)

After we finished biking, we drove back into Townsend to get us some subs for lunch. We weren’t sure exactly which hiking trail we were going to do. The original plan was to hike to Gregory Bald, but Parsons Branch Road was closed from the recent storms, and hubby wasn’t too keen on the sound of hiking 10+ miles. So we decided to drive out towards Newfound Gap/ Clingman’s Dome area and pick a trail there. Funny thing is, we ended up hiking 11 miles after all. (More on that later!)

After our 11 mile hike, we headed back to Pigeon Forge to stay in a cute little suite by Twin Mountain.  (If you ever stay in PF, I highly recommend them.)

This was the view off our balcony.
We got showers and got cleaned up, but we were so tired we didn’t really want to get out for dinner. We saved our appetite for breakfast and went to the Apple Barn in Sevierville. One of the best breakfasts EVER!
apple fritters with apple butter and applewood julep at the apple barn

Mmmm. Apple fritters with apple butter and applewood julep! I ordered the Veggie Quiche with fruit.
quiche and fruit from apple barn

It was a wonderful, exhausting weekend.


Sevierville on Dwellable
One response to “Saturday Morning Ride in the Mountains

  1. janedwellable says:

    Hi Katie,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blog posts about the Sevierville to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you 🙂
    Jane

Leave a Reply

