Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Confession Time

on July 21, 2012

I have a confession to make – I blew it.  And not even just a little bit.  I totally went off the deep end.

I wish I could take it all back.  I’m almost embarassed to admit it.

Ok here goes – I ate Papa Johns last night.

There, I said it.  And it was so good.  Well, at the time it was good.

Now I regret every last bite.

I wish I could blame it on the kids, but it was totally my idea.  We had accumulated these Papa points which would allow us to get a free Large 3-topping pizza.  But we had to use those points by the 25th.  My son had an awesome week at karate camp, and on top of that had just lost his second tooth.  So I wanted to surprise him.  Plus, I wasn’t in the mood to cook.

So I ordered the free pizza, then I added an order of wings…. for protein.  My hubby wanted breadsticks.  And then somehow, I’m not even sure how, the cinnapie dessert pizza jumped into the cart too.  We ended up paying $20 for this “free” pizza.

After I ordered, I had planned to eat only one piece of pizza and a couple of wings.  But all that flew out the window when the food arrived.  I ended up eating one breadstick, two pieces of pizza, four wings and a one piece of the cinnapie.  Holy crap.  I really don’t even want to know how many calories and how many carbs that totalled.  I should enter it into My Fitness Pal, but it would probably just depress me.

I figure confession is good for the soul, right?  So I had to get that off my chest.  Although, I’m sure the food didn’t go to my chest area – I’m sure it’s sitting right on my hips.  I think I’ll feel better if I get it off my hips!!  And with that, I’m out the door for a tempo run.  I don’t know how long it will take for me to burn all that glycogen stored from dinner, but I’m hoping an hour will do it.

Have a great Saturday!!  🙂

11 responses to “Confession Time

  1. NS says:

    I have totally been there, done that. I find that is the problem with the restricting diets! I am going a bit lower on carbs, and recently have found myself WAY overeating at night, craving things I don’t ever want…. don’t worry about it too much, and just get back with normalness tmr! Always good to share though! That’s what I do on instagram 🙂

  2. gshipman says:

    Dont beat yourself up for falling off the wagon. It happens, the important part is to get back on and it sounds like you did! When I do it I always enter it into my fitness pal. Knowing exactly how bad it was keeps me from doing it again! Good luck on your journey.

    • Thanks. Yeah, I try to be good 85-90% of the time so that I can still have the bad stuff occasionally. Although after I eat it, I remember how yucky it makes me feel and why I don’t eat it very often.

  3. Kimberley says:

    I know I’ve been there, so don’t berate yourself for a minor slip.

    My way of combatting a slip-up is to remind myself that one bad day doesn’t kill months and years of progress; then I get back on track and try and do better with my next food choice.

  4. jigglybitch says:

    Oh Sweet Daisy – Are you Crazy!?!? So you fell from the fricken’ wagon – My goodness you were pounding the pavement a short time later – you probably could have outran that wagon. I think you so needed to break and Ol’ Papa John was falling all over himself to help. My MO was always turning a fall from the wagon into a 10 mile drag behind the wagon. If i messed up I was making a day out of it – Maybe even 2 or 3 days! You were chasing that wagon down to open a big ol’ can of whoop ass on that bitch! For that I applaud you! I look forward to following you and learning more on this whole Paleo thingy. Thanks for finding me!

    • Bahaha! Oh my goodness you are funny!! And you definitely put things in perspective for me. I need to remember that it’s okay to indulge once in a while. And then when you’re done indulging, open a can of whoop ass! 😛

  5. Remi says:

    Well, if you’re gonna blow it on anything, Papa John’s is certainly a good choice.
    (one day won’t hurt ya too bad 🙂

  6. Rod Weight says:

    Would you mind if I quote a small number of your blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources returning to your website: https://katiedaisy921.wordpress.com/2012/07/21/confession-time/. I’ll aslo be sure to give you the appropriate anchortext hyperlink using your blog title: Confession Time Fitness, Food and Photography. Please let me know if this is ok with you. With thanks

Leave a Reply

