Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Eggplant and Kale Lasagna

on July 26, 2012

I’ve actually never bought an eggplant before.  I don’t know why not. They are such pretty vegetables.

eggplant

I found a recipe for Eggplant Parmesan, but I was lacking a few of the ingredients and I also wanted to add some kale.  I always take recipes as suggestions anyways.  And you can take this as a suggestion too.  In fact, if you don’t have kale, fresh spinach would work great!!  And if you wanted to make it more like a normal lasagna, you can add the usual layer of cottage cheese mixture.  I personally don’t care for cottage cheese so that’s why it’s absent in this dish.

You’ll notice there aren’t any measurements in my recipe.  That’s because it’s totally up to you.  If you want more cheese, add more cheese.  If you don’t like kale as much as I do, then don’t add as much.

Eggplant and Kale Lasagna

2 large eggplants

kale

tomato sauce (I used Prego Heart Smart traditional)

parmesan cheese

mozzarella cheese

garlic powder

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  We’re going to roast the eggplant first.  After skinning it, cut in 1/4″ slices and lay on sprayed cookie sheet.  (They will stick if not properly sprayed).  Should take about 15 minutes, but keep an eye on them.

roasted eggplant on a pan

When you get the roasted eggplant out of the oven, turn the oven down to 350 degrees.  Now we’re going to start assembling the lasagna.  First, pour about a cup of sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish.  Then arrange a layer of eggplant over it, sprinkle with parmesan cheese and garlic powder.

how to make eggplant lasagna

Then top with kale and mozzarella cheese.

how to make eggplant lasagna

Repeat the layers again until you’ve used all the ingredients and filled up the casserole dish.  (I had 3 layers of eggplant and 2 layers of kale).  Top with more cheese.

how to make eggplant lasagna

Bake in 350 degree oven for around 30 minutes.  But watch it, I overdid it just a little.

eggplant and kale lasagna

eggplant and kale lasagna

Serve with white wine.

And as you can see on my last WIAW post, it makes great leftovers!!  Enjoy!!

8 responses to “Eggplant and Kale Lasagna

  1. NS says:

    I absolutely LOVE your blog. I appreciate how honest you are – it really does help me on my days when I’ve eaten total shit. Keep up the good work, you’re a huge motivation!

  2. […] theme was “Purple”.  I considered posting another photo of the eggplants from my Eggplant and Kale Lasagna recipe.  But then I was editing pics of my daughter from the other day and thought how pretty she looked […]

  3. Kathleeen says:

    WOW……I rate this a 10. Easy,healthy,delicious! It does not get any easier…thanks so much.

  4. Ty says:

    Hope it is as good as it looks. 🙂 I have some in the oven now – I added yellow squash and several spices. Thanks for the base!

Leave a Reply

