Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Ran Out of My Funk

on July 27, 2012

I admit – I’ve been in a funk all week. It was nothing in particular that got me there, but rather a series of events. And as I told you yesterday I’ve had something weighing on my mind.  But after a full night’s sleep and a 4.2-mile run, I’m feeling much better. It’s hard to be in a bad mood after a run. Oh, and did I mention I don’t have to go back to work for 10 days!?!  That alone is enough to lift my mood.

So back to my run this morning.  One of my favorite places to go is Lakeshore Park.  It’s a 2.1 mile loop around an old mental institution and wastewater treatment facility.  I know it sounds weird, but it’s very family-friendly park with soccer fields, baseball fields, playgrounds and picnic areas.  The best part is it’s very hilly!

Here’s a picture of the first hill I run up. I used to be afraid of hills, but now I just take them as fast as I can.

image

There are 2 different ways you can run the loop.  If you go clockwise, you’ll run down a huge hill first and the rest of the way has short but steep inclines.  (The “easy” way).  But if you go counter-clockwise (the way I go) you’ll encounter more hills and potentially get a better workout.  Towards the end of the 2.1 mile loop, there is a huge hill with a switchback.  Right before the hill, there is a quarter mile straightaway. I take that opportunity to sprint as fast as I can, just to see how high I can get my heart rate. Today, 175 was the highest. I consistently kept it in the 150-160 range throughout the tempo run. (My resting heart rate is about 52-54.)  So I was definitely in my zone!

It was really muggy out today, even at 8am. I was sweating like crazy.

When I got home, I chugged a mixture of chocolate protein powder and Mike’s Mix, with a splash of coffee. Yum.  It’s a great recovery drink.


We finished it off the workout with a round of pushups and pullups –  P90x Chest and Back DVD. Hello shoulders. 🙂

What workout did you do today?

One response to “Ran Out of My Funk

  1. squirrel circus says:

    Good for you! I got out today, too, for a nice brisk walk…45 minutes….then returned home to finish it off with a 15 minute run on the treadmill. It was already too hot, 88 degrees, to run outdoors, but I wanted a change of scenery, thus the long “warm up” walk. 🙂

Leave a Reply

