Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

July Foodie Penpals Reveal

on July 31, 2012

I  am so excited to share with you my first Foodie Penpal experience.  Thank you to Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean  for such a brilliant idea.

foodiepal stamp2 July Foodie Penpals Reveal

This was my first month participating.  I was paired up with a blog reader, Kelly, who lives in New York.  She emailed me to find out what my likes/ dislikes were, and if I had any food allergies.  I told her that I like all foods, I try to eat healthy *most* of the time, I don’t have any allergies, and I love surprises.  So let’s see what she sent:

foodie penpals

I’d never seen those Eli Zabar onion thins before.  The first bite was very interesting, and then it became very addicting.  I couldn’t stop munching on them.  Yum!

foodie penpals

Dark chocolate almonds – who doesn’t love almonds?!?  Especially with chocolate!!  Those disappeared rather quickly with both the hubby and I popping them in our mouths every time we walked through the kitchen.  And a Kind bar – the flavor is Dark Chocolate Cherry Cashew.  I’d always seen this brand before but had never tried it.  It was delicious.

foodie penpals

There’s also some tea and a Fiberful bar from Trader Joe’s.  This has the consistency of a thick fruit roll-up, but it’s full of fruits and veggies.  So it’s a healthy fruit roll-up.  It was quite tasty and made an excellent mid-morning snack.  I do have to say – we are getting a Trader Joe’s here next month and I cannot wait to start shopping there!!

biscoff

And finally, Biscoff Spread.  I am speechless.  Oh. My. Word.  Quite possibly the best stuff I’ve ever put in my mouth.  Why have I never tried this before??  Where has it been all my life??  I thought for sure it had to be a specialty item, possibly only sold in big cities.  But lo and behold, I found it at Walgreens yesterday!!  So you better believe this will become a regular purchase for me!!   It says it is a “European alternative to peanut butter” but it’s made from the little Biscoff cookies.  It absolutely melts in your mouth.  Heavenly!

This has been such a fun experience, trying out new foods and meeting other bloggers and readers.  I had almost as much fun shopping for my Penpal, Stephanie at My Freckled Life.

I can’t wait to do it again!

One response to “July Foodie Penpals Reveal

  1. […] you tried Biscoff yet??  Mmmm….  Biscoff!  I recently discovered the Biscoff when my first Foodie Pen pal sent it to me.  It is amazing!  It is a win in every category!  You must try some […]

Leave a Reply

