Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Eye-Opening Food Documentaries

on August 4, 2012

I don’t know about you, but I love documentaries.  And I love Netflix for having a lot of documentaries to choose from.  I watched two last night.  And all I can say is WOW!  Very interesting … and I highly recommend them.  If you have Netflix, please add these two shows to your queue:

Frankensteer, 2005 (45 minutes)

Warning:  It’s truly disturbing.  If you have a hamburger addiction, you may not want to watch this.  But perhaps you should!!  Oh, and don’t watch it while you are trying to eat or else you WILL lose your dinner!!  Even though it’s actually about the Canadian beef industry, I’m sure every bit of that could easily apply to America just the same.  It makes you wonder where your beef really comes from.  And what is in the beef you eat?  How do you know you’re not eating a mixture of growth hormones and antibiotics along with the beef???  Grass-fed beef may be more expensive, but it’s so worth it!!

Ingredients, 2008 (76 minutes)

This documentary promotes the local food movement and showcases a rise of the CSA.  It’s wonderfully inspiring.  Support your local farmers and eat locally grown produce!  I already loved shopping at my local farmer’s market, but this just seals it for me.  Farmers are a dying breed.  The US census doesn’t even list ‘farmer’ as a profession anymore.  They are classified as ‘other’.  How sad is that?!?

And of course, if you haven’t seen Food, Inc  yet (also on Netflix), it’s at the top of my list of inspiring documentaries.  As well as Weight of the Nation!!  So if you just happen to be bored on this Saturday night, I’ve just given you something to do!  🙂

3 responses to “Eye-Opening Food Documentaries

  1. We just watched the 100 Mile Challenge series (friends let us borrow on DVD)… So wonderfully fascinating. I ordered the Plenty book, which is we’re the idea originated. So interesting. I would love to eat all local! We do quite a bit already. Just makes sense.

  2. gshipman says:

    Food Inc. is also another amazing one.

Leave a Reply

