Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Fab Abs Challenge

on August 6, 2012

As I was perusing Pinterest this evening, I came across Healthy Runner Wife’s post about an August plank challenge.  I quickly accepted, as I am not one to shy away from a challenge.  Three times a week is all she is promoting.  I’m going to take it a step further, not because I feel the need to outdo her, but rather because I need this!  My abs are my least favorite body part.  (I blame the 2 kids).  But it doesn’t have to be that way.

So, I am challenging myself to do these 5 different planks for 5 days a week for Fab Abs!!  Will you join me and HRW in our quest for plank??  How long can you hold a plank?

plank

Because I want abs that look like this ….

Or this ….

abs

5 responses to “Fab Abs Challenge

  1. Stronglikemycoffee says:

    My cross country team had a plank contest….I held it for just under 3 minutes and felt every fiber ripping to shreds. But the winner (a 90 pound freshman) held it for 5 minutes! I still don’t see how thats possible 🙂

  2. Schwenker says:

    No plank you. I’m already doing abs 3x a week with P90X and majorly struggling through that! Abs are by far my major fitness weakness. Or maybe yoga. They’re both neck and neck. I know I’m getting better, but it’s still hard to do all of that with a big belly in the way 🙂

    • I hear ya! Ab Ripper X is nuts. After the first time I did it, I couldn’t laugh the next day because it hurt so bad.

      • Schwenker says:

        I’m having to pace myself because of the time commitment. If I do 25 of each ab exercise it pushes the program to almost 30 minutes because of all the breaks I need. So I commit to doing 15 of each instead of 25 and doing more when I can. I try to do 25 of each at least once during the week. I think the fact that I am doing abs 3x/week is more than enough for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

