Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Sprinting and Sunsets

on August 8, 2012

If you follow me on Instagram (katiedaisy921), then you’ve already seen these pictures.

sunset

Last night’s sunset was awesome.

sunset

The clouds will usually dictate whether a sunset will be a good one or not.

clouds

I love those big, billowing clouds that look like cotton.

When I got home from work last night, I challenged hubby to a little Crossfit MetCon-style workout.  MetCon is short for metabolic conditioning.  High intensity interval training.  We started with a few Tabatas.  If you’ve never done Tabatas before, you need to!  It’s 8 rounds of 20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest.  One tabata is only 4 minutes long.  Sounds easy, right??  Ha!  Think again.  If you have a smart phone, there is a nifty little app you can download that will sound a buzzer at the end of each 20-second and 10-second interval.  I believe the name of the app is HIIT but you can find it by searching for “Tabata Timer”.

Then after dinner, we took the kids for a walk around the neighborhood (for the third night in a row – what up!!)  I kept challenging my 7-year old to a sprinting contest every time we came to a hill, just to keep getting my heart rate up… well, and to wear his butt out!  (7-year olds have way too much energy)  lol

When we got back from the walk, we put the kids to bed and pressed play on Shoulders & Arms DVD (P90X).  We didn’t do the whole video, mostly because it’s an hour long and I was already exhausted, but we did enough to get the arms moving.

I’m proud of us.  When I got home from work, I really just wanted to crack open a bottle of wine and chill on the couch.  Instead, we ate a healthy dinner (tuna wrap) and exercised (all evening)!  Go us!  🙂

Leave a Reply

