Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

WIAW – 8/8/12

on August 11, 2012

I’m a few days late in posting this. But better late than never, right?  Because I actually did take (most) of my pictures that day.

coffee in pottery

I started the day with coffee in my favorite mug.  Pottery by Teresa Pietsch.  She is a potter that works alongside my sister-in-law, Joy Tanner, at the Energy Xchange in NC.  Coffee just tastes better in pottery!

protein shake

Had the usual kale shake for breakfast.  Boring, I know.  But it’s soooooo good. And I recently discovered a new flavor of protein powder, Cookies ‘n Cream!!  Made by Body Fortress.  It’s really yummy.  I like it even better than Chocolate Peanut Butter.

almonds

About 11am, I got hungry and needed a snack.  Blue Diamond has the BEST almonds!!  Although, this one could stand to be a little hotter, the flavor is really good.

For lunch, I ran errands, so I ate yogurt in my car.

low-carb yogurt

Have you tried these Carbmaster yogurts from Kroger???  They are sooooo good.  And very low in calories and carbs.  This 6oz container only has 4g carb!!  Compared to other yogurts (even Greek) that have 20+ carbs, most of which is sugar.

tuna salad

All of the snacks tided me over til around 3pm when I ate the salad I brought from home.  Spinach, mushrooms, yellow peppers, onions, sprouts, and shredded cheese.  Topped with a pouch of Bumble Bee tuna.  Yum!

And I totally forgot to take a picture of dinner.  My husband made a beautiful homemade pizza, something he has perfected over the years.  His dough is every bit as good as Mellow Mushroom’s.  Since I’m doing the low-carb thing, I ate one piece, minus the thick crust.  Back in the day, I probaby would have knocked out three full pieces.  He topped it with spinach, mushrooms, olives and feta for a Greek/ Mediterranean feel.  My favortie.

Question:  Who makes the best pizza, in your opinion?  And what are your favorite toppings?

2 responses to “WIAW – 8/8/12

  1. Pizza is my weakness 🙂 We get our pizza from a local pizza place that’s been around our neck of the woods for 30+ years!! Sooooo good! We also make our own! We have a really great recipe for whole wheat pizza dough. It’s really good! Mushrooms, onions and olives are the toppings for me :)!

  2. Pizza is one of my favorites too — so many categories, though, I couldn’t pick just one — ha ha. I’d have to have a favorite deep dish, stuffed, NY style, white pizza, and on….and on….BUT, since you asked for ONE — I’d have to go with Ciro’s (local Italian bistro) pancetta e pomodoro brick oven pizza. Yum!

Leave a Reply

