Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Monday Motivation

on August 13, 2012

Yep.  It’s Monday already.  I’m so sad the weekend is over.  My 7-year old goes back to school tomorrow.  Not looking forward to getting up earlier, packing school lunches, rushing to get out the door on time and fighting traffic in school zones.  Ugh.

Last night was fun, though – I got to play tooth fairy!!  He had lost his 2 front teeth last week, but he’s been holding on to them so he could show all his friends before the tooth fairy took them away.

Finally last night he decided he wanted to “cash them in”.  The tooth fairy left him $10!  Seems like a lot for two teeth.  When I was a kid, all I got was a quarter!  Wow.  You know you’re officially old when you start saying stuff like that!

Anyways, time for that motivation!

steve jobs quote

Hmm.  Really makes you think.  This can apply to all aspects of our life, not just our fitness goals.  I’ve been wondering a lot lately….  if the things I’m doing are not making me happy, then why am I doing them??  I’m actively taking steps to change the things I do not like.  Most changes don’t happen overnight, I realize that.  But just knowing I’m working on improvement is good enough for now.

Like I said in my last post, my husband and I have been simplifying lately.  We’ve been taking a look at what’s truly important and ridding ourselves of all the little stuff that doesn’t matter.  For example, our basement had become a catch-all for everything we weren’t using.  All the outgrown kids clothes and toys were down there, my husband’s extra car parts, all the camping equipment, the Christmas decorations, etc etc.  The usual stuff people accumulate.  PLUS, after my dad died, we put a lot of his furniture in our basement til we decided what to do with it.  It’s a 900-square foot basement that looked like an episode of Hoarders.  I’m not kidding.  But earlier this year, slowly but surely, we’ve worked to sell the furniture, donate or sell the kids clothes and toys, clean out car parts, organize the camping and Christmas stuff, and actually made the basement usable again.  It took time and quite a bit of effort but it totally paid off.  We now have a home gym set up down there.  Pics here.  And it’s still a work in progress.

Speaking of the home gym, I’ll be using it tonight for a hard and fast workout I created.

ladder workout

Today’s WOD

Happy Monday!!!  I hope you are following your heart and doing the things that make you happy!!  If not, do some burpees instead.  🙂

One response to “Monday Motivation

  1. Getting rid of “clutter” feels good! We have been doing it in our basement for about a year now….the progress is slow but we’re getting there 🙂

Leave a Reply

