Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Randomness

on August 15, 2012

I just have a few random things to share with you…

#1 – I always like to check out my blog stats.  I like seeing where my readers live, but more impotantly, what brought them to my blog.   Yesterday, there were a few different search engines that directed traffic my way.  Although, what’s disturbing is one of the search terms was “I’m giving up on life quotes”.  Is that really something that someone does a Google search on??  And I’m baffled as to why MY blog would come up if you’re giving up on life.  I would hope my blog does just the opposite.  I would hope that my blog motivates or inspires you to create the life you want.  Because that is what I am doing.

motivation

#2 – Our first Trader Joe’s just opened in my town this weekend.  If it’s possible to be in love with a grocery store, I am.  It’s only been open for 6 days and I’ve already been there three times!  I should have taken a picture right after my shopping trips because as soon as I came home with some of this stuff, it was gone immediately.  Here’s a pic of what’s left from my haul:

trader joe's

Their organic produce selection is good, but best of all, the prices are very reasonable.  Starting from the left, I found this interesting little seaweed snack.  What you can’t tell from the picture is that it’s wasabi flavor!  YUM!!  They are thin like tissue paper with a slight crunch, but a wonderful hot wasabi flavor.  They are just weird enough that I keep popping them in my mouth.  The package says they are good on salads, so I’m going to try that tomorrow.  Fig butter, need I say more??  I love all things fig!

The BEST thing that I’ve found so far is the Thai Chili Lime Cashews.  The flavor is awesome and there is just enough heat to make this girl happy!

Those fresh jalapenos are probably the HOTTEST jalapenos I’ve ever eaten!!  We’ve bought jalapenos from the farmer’s market all summer.  They were sweet and tasty, but never hot.  So my hubby got quite a surprise when he took a big bite out of one.  He was just about to cut them up to make these cream cheese filled jalapenos for a quick appetizer.

cream cheese jalapeno poppers

Jalapeno poppers with cream cheese and olives

I also bought a few things for my foodie pen pal, but I didn’t put them in my picture.  You’ll just have to wait til the end of the month and read her blog to see what she got!  🙂

#3 – New Favorite Place.  On Saturday night, the hubs and I were able to sneak away for a couple of hours to have a date night while his dad watched the kids.  We discovered this new little place called Marlin & Rays.  They have THE BEST happy hour specials!  If you sit at the bar, the fish tacos and the beers are $2 each.  Or your can upgrade your beer to a Large for $0.99.  Yes, please!

marlin and rays fish tacos

I also tried the steamed mussels just for fun.  I’d never had them before and a plate was only $2.  Why not?  Well, now I know why not.  Ick.  I finally found a food I do not like.

Anyways, if you have a Marlin & Rays near you, I highly recommend it!  The grilled fish tacos are really good!!

#4 – I couldn’t help but post a few pics from the sunset the other night.  These photos have not even been retouched.

sunset

No photoshop necessary

That’s off my back deck.  Then, the very next night we watched a storm roll in…..

storm

That’s all.  I’m done being random now.

7 responses to “Randomness

  1. I am obsessed with Trader Joe’s! We are getting one in my hometown soon and I know I am going to probably spend my entire paycheck there.

  2. Ohh Trader Joes…they have superb graham crackers, way better than Honey Maid. And their sauces are really good too, I’ve been trying the different curries and masala. That fig butter looks interesting!

  3. Marlin & Ray’s eh? May have to mosey down the street and check them out.

    Also, Trader Joe’s….YES!!!!

    • Yeah, you definitely need to go, especially since it’s like a minute from your new house! You have to sit at the bar to get the happy hour specials, and it’s only before 7pm. If you’re going on the weekend, let us know, we’ll meet you there! 🙂

  4. […] We ordered the fish tacos, but I didn’t take a picture of them.  They were super disappointing.  Kinda soggy and wrapped in not one, but two corn tortillas.  I think Marlin & Rays still has the best fish tacos around!! […]

  5. […] The hubs ordered fish tacos, of course.  I think we’ve tried them at almost every restaurant in town.  And Marlin and Rays still wins hands down!! […]

Leave a Reply

