Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday

on August 15, 2012

Time for another installment of What I Ate Wednesday.   Such a fun little thing to share with the blogosphere, courtesy of Peas and Crayons.

So today started the same as any other day, with a kale shake.  Today’s was slightly different, though.  We ran out of frozen strawberries so we added fresh peaches instead. I know it sounds like a really weird combo – peaches, kale and cookies ‘n cream flavored protein powder, but I promise it works!!

protein shake

Today was a crazy busy day. So busy, in fact, I’m surprised I even remembered to eat lunch at all.  Thankfully I had brought a salad from home.

spinach salad

Spinach, yellow peppers, grape tomatoes, sprouts, and feta cheese with homemade balsamic vinaigrette.   Yum!!
Then I added a pouch of tuna, which is a great way to increase your protein intake.

And a few almonds on the side. 🙂

When I picked my son up from school, I asked him what he wanted for dinner. “Tacos”, he screamed from the backseat.  Ok.  Good idea, buddy!!

tacos with ground turkey

Taco shells, ground turkey, salsa, cheese, banana peppers and jalapenos.
As a rule, I don’t buy iceberg lettuce.  So instead of shredded lettuce, I topped my tacos with spinach.

My hubby crumbled up his tacos, and turned it into a taco salad topped with ranch.

taco salad

My son refused to allow me to post pictures of his taco. He’s so funny.

Then, after dinner, to satisfy a little sweet craving, I had a few peanut butter chips.

peanut butter chips

Question of the day:  how do you satisfy a sweet craving without derailing your diet??

9 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Tea with honey in it. Or a spoonful of frozen yogurt! I literally stand at the counter with the spoonful of yogurt. Seems to do te trick most of the time 🙂

  2. cassidy says:

    Your protein shake combo sounds interesting! Haven’t ever added greens to my protein powder before. Usually I just make a separate green smoothie.
    If I want something sweet I eat it what I am craving. Junk and sweets are part of my diet in moderation 🙂

  3. touchesby says:

    Reblogged this on Touches by and commented:
    That chocolaty look is enticing!

  4. Peanut Butter Chips! I will have to try them 🙂

  5. […] got a great idea from another blog I recently read @ https://katiedaisy921.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/what-i-ate-wednesday-2/.  Every week she tells her bloggers what she eats every Wednesday.  I thought it would be a great […]

  6. Anna says:

    Instead of a handful of peanut butter chips, I usually grab a spoon of peanut butter and if I am lucky and happen to have a bag of unsweetened chocolate chips, I dip my spoon of peanut butter into the chips. That is my favorite quick little sweet splurge! 😉

    • Ooooooo…. peanut butter AND chocolate chips! Now you’re talking!! Maybe some almond butter with dark chocolate chips, that might even be considered a “healthy” treat. I will have to try that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

