Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday

on August 29, 2012

Time for another installment of What I Ate Wednesday, courtesy of Peas and Crayons Blog.

 

As per usual, the day started off with a kale shake.  What was different about it today, though, was that it was hubby’s shake from yesterday that he didn’t finish.  It had been in the freezer for 24 hours.  We were all in a rush so there wasn’t time to make fresh shakes this morning.  So I had to eat it with a spoon…

kale protein shake

Yeah, I know it doesn’t look that appetizing, but I promise the flavor is great.  Plus, it’s frozen so it’s like eating ice cream for breakfast!!So I’m sitting in my Wednesday morning meeting and 4 different coworkers give me a scowl face followed by “What are you eating?”  Another asked “Why is it brown?” and “What’s in there?”  I like telling people that I’m having a kale shake and watching the look on their face.

Ok, here is the part where my day EXPLODED!  I had several people coming at me all at once, needing their answer/spreadsheet/whatever immediately, or more like yesterday.  Well, I’m only one person and as much as I try to multi-task, when it comes down to it, I really can ony do one thing at a time.  And this week, a coworker is on vacation so I’ve been filling in for her.  Turns out I’ve spent the last 3 days working on her stuff while neglecting mine.  To the point that now I won’t be able to take that vacation day I had planned on Friday because I just don’t have everything done.  It sucks, I know.  But such is life.  Or rather, such is insurance.

So I said all that to say …  I didn’t have lunch today.  Didn’t hardly leave my desk, except for bathroom breaks.  The only food I had at my desk was a can of Blue Diamond Almonds, Wasabi flavor.  I realized around 3pm that I was STARVING.  I think I ate about 3 servings worth.  Oh well. Fast forward to dinner.  Boy was I glad to be home!!!I was in the mood to cook and create.  I had 2 cucumbers in the fridge, so I decided to make homemade pickles.

homemade pickles

The pickle recipe is courtesy of Corinne.  You can find her recipe here. While I was in the kitchen making dinner, I went ahead and made a salad for tomorrow’s lunch.  I don’t want to be stuck at work with no lunch again.  This is the salad I wish I’d had today!  Mixed greens, turkey pepperoni, hard boiled egg, mushrooms, yellow peppers, grape tomatoes and sunflower seeds.  YUM.  That’s my kind of salad.  I’ll take a little homemade balsamic to go on top.

homemade salad

For dinner, I was in the mood for roasted veggies, but we didnt have any zucchini or squash so I settled for eggplant.

Served alongside some turkey bacon and leftover breakfast casserole, topped with salsa and a side of greens.

It was actually really good.  I love putting salsa on eggs.  Yummy.  The hubs put his breakfast casserole into a low-carb wrap with salsa, cheese and peppers.  He ate it before I had a chance to photograph it.I did, however, photograph this:

sunset

It’s now 9pm and I’m wishing I had something sweet to eat.  There’s not a thing in the house that has any trace of sugar.  Well, except for my son’s candy stash, which is leftover from last Halloween.  As you can imagine only the crappy stuff is left.In that case, it might be time for bed!  🙂

Good night, All.

6 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. It takes a special kind of person (yay, you!) to come home from a crappy day at work and make homemade pickles. Hope you’re enjoying (or about to enjoy) today’s salad as I’m typing, here 🙂

    • Ha! Yeah, you really shouldn’t be that impressed. LOL. The night before I just came home and plopped on the couch with a glass of wine after that crappy day. And I would have felt super guilty if I’d done that 2 days in a row. So I found comfort in the kitchen instead.

  2. Jenn-O says:

    I love the wasabi flavored almonds! Yum!! It’s hard to put them down. Your dinner looks great!

    • Oh, I know. I can’t just open the can. If I do, I could eat the whole can in one sitting. I have to count out 28 almonds and then put the can away so I’m not tempted to keep eating them. They are sooooo yummy!

  3. Elle @TheWay says:

    That salad looks amazing. Can you make my lunch for me? ; )

Leave a Reply

