Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

TGIF: How I De-Stress

on September 14, 2012

I don’t know if anyone could be as excited as I am that it’s Friday!  It’s been a hell of a week.  Client meetings, presentations, and deadlines made for a stressful week and more than a few late nights.

So how does one celebrate that the week is over??  With a long run, of course. After work, I headed to my favorite greenway. It’s actually a beautiful,  old (read: expensive)  neighborhood on the Tennessee River.  Down the middle of the street is a wide, tree lined median with a gravel path.  Shaded, but hilly, it’s 5.2 miles round-trip.

image

It was rough starting out. My legs were heavy and tired from the hill sprints I did last night. But I pushed on.

image

I won’t lie, there was some run / walk action. But it was a respectable run / walk. Maybe 50/50, but I sprinted the hills and only walked when I knew my heart rate had just spiked.
image

I was glad when it was over, though. My legs were jello. My quads are sore. I’ll feel it tomorrow for sure.

image

And finally, I’ll leave you with the sunset from this evening. It was stunning.

Hope you have a fabulous weekend!!

One response to “TGIF: How I De-Stress

  1. Reminds me of an old (also read “expensive”) neighborhood in Baltimore, MD, near my first house — it had a series of small lakes and fountains within it. Gorgeous architecture, too. Thanks for sharing your sunset! TGIF 🙂

Leave a Reply

