Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday

on September 19, 2012

First of all, how is it Wednesday already??  This week has flown by, and tomorrow is my Friday!!  Yipee.

It’s time for my favorite post of the week ….  What I Ate Wednesday …..  thank you Peas and Crayons for hosting a fun linkup every week.

My day actually started at 5 a.m, which was 30 minutes before my alarm was even scheduled to go off.  I’m not sure why I popped up so early. I had some strange dreams and I guess my body was just done sleeping.

After about 4 cups of coffee, I had the usual kale protein shake.  I know – I get a little boring.  I have it every day.  But it is so yummy.

kale protein shake

I gave my daughter a few sips before I left for work.  She was eating her pancake on the couch while watching Curious George.

 

 

So I took my salad to a park around the corner, sat on a picnic bench and enjoyed the sunlight while I ate my salad.  Ahhh.  Perfect.

A little light reading during the lunch hour.  🙂

My lunch view

This was my view.  Do you know how hard it was to go back to work???

A few other people were enjoying the park-bench-with-a-view lunch hour too.

temptation

temptation

When I got back from lunch, I found these sitting on the counter – evil cookies from Panera.  A carrier rep had brought them in.

But guess what?!?  I completely resisted them!!  I didn’t have a single bite!!  Yay!

“cheese”

For dinner, we met my Mom, Aunt and cousin at Jason’s Deli to celebrate my birthday.  (It’s on Friday).  I absolutely love Jason’s Deli simply for their salad bar.  It’s awesome.

jason's deli

Tonight, though, I decided to get the Manager’s Special – a half sandwich and salad bar.  (My kids ate the chips for me).

There are just too many good sounding sandwiches to choose from.   I chose the Wild Salmon-wich.  “Marinated grilled wild Alaskan Sockeye salmon, guacamole, roma tomatoes, leafy lettuce, chipotle aioli on toasted herb focaccia.”  Sounds good, right?

It was just ok.   I think that salmon was the frozen variety.  I probably won’t order that again.

The neat thing is that we went on Wednesday night.  Kids eat FREE on Wednesday nights!!  Awesome.  Well, actually it’s a good thing.  I was very disappointed in the quality of the kids food, so I’m glad I didn’t have to pay for it.  My son’s pizza was crap.  And my daughter’s “organic” mac & cheese was straight out of a box.  The kind that uses yellow dye, too.  Not cool.

But the salad bar.  The salad bar is a different story.  All the veggies on the salad bar are organic.  There’s also a huge choice of pasta salad, couscous, hummus, etc etc.  So much great stuff to choose from.  Here’s what mine looked like.  Those little muffins are good, but I had to share with my kids.

Another main reason why I love Jason’s Deli — is the soft serve machine.  It’s FREE for everyone after your meal!  YUM!!!

After dinner, I headed over to a local children’s consignment sale, Duck Duck Goose.  Since I had consigned clothes, I had a Private pass to shop the sale one day early.  This sale is HUGE, and it only happens twice a year.  I got there at 7:45pm to start shopping.  I ran into a friend around 9:30, which was awesome because we could stand in the line together.  We ended up waiting in line for TWO HOURS to check out.  I didn’t get home til 12:30am.  Oh my goodness.  What a long day!

 

2 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. That salad bar DOES look amazing! I hope you found some awesome stuff at that consignment sale! Clothing thrift stores are one of my favorite places to shop. There are always such great steals! 🙂

    • Yes, I did find a LOT of great deals at the consignment sale. (Otherwise it wouldn’t have been worth a two-hour wait). I should have taken a pic of everything I bought. I spent only $84 and got tons of winter clothes for my daughter and plenty of “cool” shirts and a jacket for my son. And I even got stuff for me. Yes, me! I always shop in the “Teen” section for workout pants/tops and cute t-shirts.

Leave a Reply

