Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday – 9-26-12

on September 27, 2012

Peas and Crayons

Once again, thanks to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for the fun linkup.  I look forward to this every week!!  This is the last Wednesday in September.  Gasp!  Can you believe October will be here next week?!?  ….And then it will be Thanksgiving before we know it ….. and then Christmas shortly after that…. and then a brand new year!!!  Oh my!!  Let the 4th quarter panic attacks begin.

Deep Breath.

It will be okay.

Baby Steps.

How about I just show you What I Ate today!  🙂

Of course, I started out with my usual cup of coffee.  I love coffee.

kale protein shake

Yeah, I’m predictable …  I had the usual kale shake for breakfast.  But oh wait, it wasn’t kale today – it was Spinach!  Ah, see – I’m shaking things up!  🙂

And notice the University of Tennessee cup ….  GO VOLS!!!  🙂

morning snack

Morning snack.  I love raw veggies.

For lunch, I headed out for a few errands and ran by Trader Joe’s to grab some produce.  I love Trader Joe’s.  (Apparently there is a ‘love’ theme here).

sushi

before

They have a tiny little deli section where there are all kinds of different salads, wraps and other things that were all very reasonably priced.  And also very fast.  I’ll have to remember that for another day.  The buffalo chicken wrap looked awesome.  But I’ve been craving sushi for a while now.  In fact, I told my hubby I wanted sushi on my birthday weekend, but we just couldn’t fit it into all the other fun.

sushi

after

I couldn’t eat too much.  It really filled me up.  And that tiny little white packet full of wasabi was awesome.  It was exactly the right amount of heat, which for me is a lot!  If my nose doesn’t hurt while I’m eating sushi and wasabi, then somebody didn’t make it right!  The hotter the better!

About 3:30pm, my sweet tooth wanted a treat:

It says it’s infused with spicy red chili.  Hmm.  Well, if it is, I can’t taste it.  Although it could be that my taste buds were burned off with that wasabi earlier.  (kidding)

After work, I had to give blood for cancer research!  No, really!  How cool is that?!?

I am proud to participate in a 20-year cancer research study by the American Cancer Society.  The study is still open all across the country.  I heard they were looking for a total of 300,000 to participate.  If you want to know more about how you can help, click this link.

After taking my measurements and giving blood, I headed over to the Duck Duck Goose consignment sale to pick up my check and my unsold stuff.

From looking at the load I put back in my car, you would have thought I didn’t sell a thing.  The pile looked the same as what I took in there.  My husband was not too thrilled about carting all that unsold stuff back down into the basement.  BUT, I actually sold $202!  (Then you take out their 30% cut and my $15 participation fee), and my check was for $126.  That’s cool.  I’ll take it.  I only spent $84 at the sale, so I call that a WIN!

By the time I got home, it was 7pm and I was STARVING!!!

But guess what?!?  Hubby had dinner waiting on me!!! How sweet is that?!?

fajitas

Homemade fajitas.  Chicken, onions, peppers, cheese, broccoli slaw, avocado and hot sauce!  YUM!!!  He did such a good job.

After dinner, we took the kids for a walk around the neighborhood, just to get everyone’s wiggles out.  My son didn’t have a very good day at school yesterday.  So we used the time to talk about his actions.

When the kids went to bed, the hubs and I plopped down on the couch and watched the latest episode of ‘Parenthood’.  Do you watch this show?  I used to love it, but my goodness, it’s gotten deep.  Every episode is a tear jerker.  The writers need to bring a little joy and happiness to this family or they are going to lose me.

I needed a little sweet fix.

I saw this flavor at the grocery store and couldn’t resist buying it.  I was hoping it would be as good as Blue Bell’s Red Velvet Cake.  (Read my review HERE)  It was NOT!  In fact, it couldn’t hold a candle to Blue Bell.  Sadly though, you can’t find Blue Bell’s Red Velvet Cake right now.  (One can only hope they will bring it back for the holidays).

I guess it’s a good thing that I didn’t like it very much.  It meant that I didn’t eat very much.

So there you have it.  That’s What I Ate Wednesday!  🙂

3 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday – 9-26-12

  1. Sometime it IS nice (and caloric-ly convenient) to discover that you don’t LOVE a treat that you’ve tried. 🙂

  2. Thanks for commenting on post earlier. I’ve enjoyed looking around your blog too! 🙂 Have you tried Ben and Jerry’s Blueberry Graham Greek FroYo. A.W.E.S.O.M.E. I also tried their raspberry chocolate chunk, but it was nothing to rave about. Blueberry Graham – must try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

