Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

A Taste Test

on September 28, 2012

Ok, so maybe I have a thing for spreads.  I cleaned out the pantry and realized how many different kinds I had!
taste test nut butters

Peanut butters, nut butters, sunflower butter, cookie butters – doesn’t matter to me.  I love the spreads.

So I decided to do a little taste test.

peanut butter comparison

JIF Natural vs Smart Balance vs Earth Fare Peanut Butter
JIF wins hands down. No contest. The smooth creaminess is unbeatable. Earth Fare’s is too oily, too runny. The Smart Balance was also in the oily category til I put it in the fridge for a few days to harden it up. But who likes hard peanut butter??

hazelnut spread

JIF Hazelnut Spread vs Kroger Hazelnut spread
The main ingredient in both is sugar.  Are you surprised?  Come on – hazelnuts don’t taste THAT good!  And JIF wins again.  So thick and creamy.  The Kroger brand was too thin, almost runny.

biscoff spread

Biscoff Spread vs Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter

After Trader Joes opened in my town, all I heard people talking about was this Speculoos Cookie Butter.  I thought for sure it was just like the Biscoff so I had to try it.  Now, I will say this – if I’d never had Biscoff and didn’t know any better, I would say the Cookie Butter is good.  BUT, have you tried Biscoff yet??  Mmmm….  Biscoff!  I recently discovered the Biscoff when my first Foodie Pen pal sent it to me.  It is amazing!  It is a win in every category!  You must try some today!!

So there you have it.  My very informal taste test.

Question of the Day:  What is your favorite spread??

2 responses to “A Taste Test

  1. That looks like my cupboard! I absolutely love PB, by itself, with a spoon. Mmmmm. All different kinds 🙂

  2. […] still prefer the Biscoff spread over the Cookie Butter if given a choice, but I still love the cookie butter.  […]

Leave a Reply

