Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

September Foodie Pen Pals Reveal

on October 1, 2012

Today is Reveal Day!!  I always love Foodie Penpals reveal day!!  Isn’t it fun to see what everyone gets?

I have to say….  this month was extra special for me!  The box actually arrived ON MY BIRTHDAY!!  How cool is that?!?  I’m sure it was a total coincidence, but I don’t care.  I think it was awesome!!

My box came from Anna at the Blog “Be Healthy, Well & Inspired“….

So here is what was in my package:

2 boxes of Go Go Squeeze applesauce.  Sadly, I only had one of these.  My kids totally hijacked these from me.  The one I had, the cinnamon, was very yummy!  It’s all natural applesauce, with no added sugar (which makes me very happy) so I was glad for my kids to eat them.

A box of Annie’ homegrown cinnamon bunny grahams.  YUM!  I always love graham crackers and the little teddy grahams, but those are full of refined and processed ingredients.  These are all natural, so again, I am happy for my kids to eat them!!!

I couldn’t wait to try these kale chips!  I’d never seen these before!  Oh my!  So interesting.  And yet, I couldn’t stop popping them in my mouth!  The flavor was weirdly good.  Chili Lime.  I could taste it if I thought about it.  There was a slight heat at the end that I couldn’t resist.  My 2-year old also liked them.  We polished off the bag in one day!!

I L.O.V.E. edamame.  So these dry roasted edamame were sure to be a new favorite of mine.  They did not disappoint at all.  The slightly salty flavor and hearty texture….  I’m in LOVE!  I need to find these in a store near me!!  YUM!

And finally, the Southwest Dip.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  I can’t say enough about this Southwest Dip!!  It was simply divine!!!  I put it on everything I could find…  crackers, meat, wraps… anything!  It had a perfectly spicy flavor.

Here is my Deer Wrap with Southwest sauce:

deer venison wrap

southwest sauce, deer meat, cheese, tomatoes, sprouts and greens

So thank you, Anna, for the super awesome box of goodies!

If you want to see what I sent to my Pal, go to Teresa’s Blog at Farm Share Stories HERE.

The Lean Green Bean

Now, after reading that don’t you want a penpal of your own?! Here are the details!

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions. -You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal! -The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination! -You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!) -Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month. -Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

One response to “September Foodie Pen Pals Reveal

  1. Anna says:

    Kate, so glad to hear you liked everything in your package!!! I had fun buying those items for you. Looked like I did a good job considering I do not know what you like. So glad you enjoyed the southwest dip. It looked good with the deer meat!

Leave a Reply

