Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

on October 22, 2012

From WordPress: SILHOUETTE. The proper definition of a silhouette is “the outline of a body viewed as circumscribing a mass.” In photography, often we achieve that effect by putting light behind the object whose silhouette we want to capture, effectively darkening out the features of the subject instead of highlighting them. My silhouette of the Colosseum in Italy I think still shows off the ancient landmark while bringing other details into focus.

Share a picture of a Silhouette with everyone!

I would say most of my “silhouette” photos were not intentional.  Backlighting trips me up sometimes.  I don’t usually intend to make it a silhouette unless I’m shooting my favorite subject, the sunset.

My best silhouette photos were from sunsets.  Hope you enjoy.

sunset over chickamauga

Chickamauga Dam in Chattanooga, TN

 

sunset

Sunset and Canada Geese

These trees frequently make appearances as silhouettes in my photos.  They are in my backyard and usually blocking my view of the sunset.

Taken off my back deck

These two pictures were taken on the same night, within 15 minutes of each other.  It amazes me how much the sky can change in a matter of minutes.

 

4 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette (katiedaisy921.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette (katiedaisy921.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette (katiedaisy921.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette (katiedaisy921.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

