Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Maintain, Don’t Gain Wellness Challenge

on November 1, 2012

… also titled ‘My November Goals’.

So, we started another wellness challenge at work.  I really wanted some motivation to help get me through the holidays.  I tend to throw caution to the wind during the months of November and December- baking, eating, drinking, and just having fun.  And as a result, I typically gain 5-10 pounds every year, which then has to come off some time in the following 3-6 months.  Well, I didn’t want to do that this year.  I want to stay on track with my fitness goals.  (Speaking of goals, I’ve never actually written any down.  I think now is a good time to start).

It’s so hard for me to find motivation alone.  I need the support and encouragement of others.  It’s not the competition that I want, it’s the accountability that  I need.  So I am spearheading a Wellness Challenge at work.

There are 2 options to choose from – #1 is simple – just don’t gain any weight over the holidays.  Weigh in on November 1st and again on December 31st.  If you gained any weight at all, you have to pay $25.  Everyone who maintained or lost their weight will be entered to win a drawing of all the loser’s money.  Easy.  I had over 20 people choose this option!

#2 is quite a bit more complicated with a team structure and point system.  I won’t share all the details with you, but suffice it to say that this one will definitely keep me motivated!  There are 6 of us that chose this option, which is 3 different 2-person teams.  It should be a lot of fun.

I plan on sending out weekly tips and motivational emails to all participants.  I’ll include them on the blog for you too!  My very first tip includes setting goals.  Specific, measurable goals.  It’s not enough to say “I’ll exercise more” or “I’ll eat better”.  Those are not specific enough.  And set a deadline for achieving that goal.

Here are my goals for November:

1)  Lose 4 pounds (1 per week) by the end of November

2)  Run in 8k on Thanksgiving Day!  (Haven’t done this race in 6 years!)

3)  Set a PR on deadlift at 120#

So here is my challenge to you…. can you get through the holidays without gaining weight this year?  Can you strive to ‘Maintain, Don’t Gain’ this year?  How will you do it?  Set your goals today!

7 responses to “Maintain, Don’t Gain Wellness Challenge

  1. Remi says:

    I’ll be playing the supporting role 🙂 Gotta keep the wife unit motivated! I’m just patiently working out this SI Joint inflammation so I can get back to a normal workout routine. Grrrr.

  2. I would LOVE to “maintain” over the holidays. I just ate on a few pounds in Halloween candy alone, last week. My office is having a health initiative, too, called “MOVE” or something like that. Besides workout minutes, it emphasizes water intake, which is always an issue for me. Good luck with your challenges — looking forward to your tips, etc. 🙂

  3. […] I told you on Thursday, we started a new Wellness Challenge at work to get through the holidays without adding any extra pounds.  My first tip is about drinking […]

  4. […] I put the kids to bed, I had a sweet craving come over me.  On our new Wellness Challenge at work, points are deducted for sweets with more than 5 grams of sugar.  So…  I discovered that a […]

  5. […] of all, remember that Maintain, Don’t Gain Wellness Challenge we had at work??  Well it’s over now.  I ended up gaining 2 pounds.   But that’s not what I wanted […]

Leave a Reply

