Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

4 Miles Later the Bad Mood is Gone!

on November 10, 2012

As I told you earlier, I was in a funk.  But just as I knew it would, my run put me in a better mood.  In fact, that was the best run I’ve had in a long time!!  After work, I headed over to my favorite running spot, Lakeshore Park.  In less than 2 weeks, I’m running in a 8K on Turkey Day, so I really need to get some mileage in.

The view from the top of the hill

The sun was starting to set so I was trying to run as fast as I could.  This is a hilly greenway, so my goal is to sprint the hills and recover at the top with a short walk.  I was a little slower in the beginning, but once I found my groove it was smooth sailing.  I probably could have done another 2.1 mile lap but I didn’t want to overdo it.

When I got back to my car, I refueled with some BCAAs.  This Protein Shot is really not bad.  It tastes better than you would expect.  And at 120 calories and 26 grams of protein, it’s a great recovery drink.

Finished the night off with a healthy dinner.

Grilled pork chops, roasted carrots and steamed broccoli. Delicious.

Question of the Day:  What is your favorite post-work out drink or snack?

4 responses to “4 Miles Later the Bad Mood is Gone!

  1. dorseyml says:

    I either juice, or make a smoothie. As for smoothies- I use the Vega protein in Vanilla, with strawberries, bananas, either coconut water or almond milk, ice, stevia. Sometimes I throw some kale or spinach in it too. 😀

  2. gshipman says:

    Yum, looks good. I don’t know why I still dread workouts because they make me feel better 100% of the time! Good luck with your 8K!

  3. […] 4 Miles Later the Bad Mood is Gone! […]

Leave a Reply

