Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

A Terrific Thursday

on November 16, 2012

I did something I never do ….  I worked out on my lunch hour!   I always thought people who exercised during their lunch hour were crazy.  Who wants to get all sweaty and have to put work clothes back on?  Apparently I do.  I loved it.  Well, except for the fact that my face was all red and most of my makeup had been sweated off.  It felt GREAT!

This time of year it’s hard to find the best time to run outside.  In the morning, it’s way too early and cold.  After work, the sun sets way too quickly.  Plus, it’s cold.  So, I think the lunch hour is the optimal time.  As long as I don’t have any client appointments or meetings in the afternoon, I will be doing this more often!!  And there are plenty of greenway options within a few miles of my building so I won’t get bored going to the same spot.

 

Egg, Cheese and Spinach on Whole Wheat English muffin

I had a great breakfast to fuel my workout.  Hubby made egg and cheese on whole wheat english muffins.  I threw some spinach on it for good measure.

My favorite hill 🙂

 

From Endomondo

Anyone else use the Endomondo app?  I just downloaded it a week ago and so far I really like it.  It uses the GPS in your phone to track your mileage.  And I have to say, it’s pretty darn accurate.  Back in the day, I used to use the Nike+ on my iPod and I never thought it was right.  I even used it during a Half Marathon and it said I ran 15 miles.  lol

Yes, you are reading that correctly ….  turkey and stuffing with cranberry cream cheese IN A WRAP!!  Sounds slightly weird.  But I love turkey.  I love dressing.  And I love cream cheese.  So how could Trader Joe’s go wrong??

YUM!!!!!

This wrap was AMAZING!!!  The ony thing that would have made it better would have been some fresh cranberries and maybe a little mustard.  So yummy.  I practically inhaled it when I got back from my run.

Finished it off with a little dark chocolate promise.

Now that is what I call a Terrific Thursday!!!!

 

Questions of the Day: 

What is your favorite time of day to workout?  

Have you ever done a workout on your lunch break??

Which app do you use to track your mileage?

 

7 responses to “A Terrific Thursday

  1. Runningdaze says:

    I usually work out right after work, but my work has a mile gravel trail around it and I’m tempted to run at lunch. My biggest worry was being all sweaty for the rest of the day. That TJ wrap looks awesome!! I just use my garmin but I’ve heard there are a lot of good apps (mapmyrun and run keeper are two good ones I’ve heard!)

    • Oh wow – a mile gravel trail? That would be awesome. You should totally try it during lunch, especially with the weather getting cooler, I didn’t sweat as much as I would during the summer. Sure, I still sweated, but I brought baby wipes, deodorant and body spray with me!

  2. Nice post. I usually work out in the morning, because I go to work in the afternoon. I will try downloading the app.

  3. I used to never be able to work out in the morning because I am NOT an early riser. Conversely, I was too pooped at the end of the to work out. Obviously, I had issues – ha ha. Only perfect mid-morning workouts did it for me…which was fine, while I had my home office. Finally, this year, all of the stars aligned. The boys are in the newly built intermediate building and leave for school almost 90 minutes before last year’s time and a whole TWO HOURS before I need to leave. Now, I work out from 8-9 am almost every morning, and am LOVING it. 🙂

  4. […] Deodorant: a crystal-infused towelette.  I do have to say, this came in quite handy since I started running during my lunch hour.  It’s so nice to wipe the sweat off before putting work clothes back […]

Leave a Reply

