Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

on November 17, 2012

From WordPressGreen. For some of you, in the northern hemisphere, you may not be seeing green for a while. Let’s celebrate all things green!

Share (many) pictures in a gallery which mean GREEN to you!

To me, GREEN means summer.  Green grass, green leaves, green shrubs.  I love summer!

17 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

  1. maxim sense says:

    Yes, green indeed and very relaxing. Love it. You may also like my green. Thank you. http://maxim061156.wordpress.com/2012/11/17/weekly-photo-challenge-green/

  2. Great photos, the butterfly is my favorite.

  3. Jeff Sinon says:

    A very nice group of photos for this week. I usually don’t offer unsolicited critiques for two reasons, first, I’m not sure I’m qualified to critique anything, and second, not everyone has as thick a skin as I do when it comes to their photographs. But, since you did ask, I’ll gladly give my 2 cents (all it’s worth by the way 🙂 ).

    I apologize in advance if anything to follow, offends, upsets, or down right pisses you off.

    Composition wise, all the images are very good. Leading lines, rule of thirds, all that good stuff. My three favorites are the stream, the barn, and the hiking sign. If I could offer a suggestion that would benefit all of them, try shooting them exactly as you have composed them, only in better light. That barn and the hiking sign photo would look amazing with some nice “golden hour” light on them. Also, a better sky, even if it is just a bright blue, though some nice clouds would really pop. The down side to shooting in better light, getting up insanely early for sunrise, or walking out in the dark after sunset. For landscapes in particular I try to be set up and ready to go at least 1/2 hour before sunrise. And for sunsets, don’t pack it in as soon as the sun dips below the horizon either, give it a good 20 minutes more. If there are clouds in the sky towards the horizon, you’ll be amazed at what the sun will do to them as it lights them from below. This also goes for sunrise, and is one reason why I recommend at least 1/2 early.

    In the stream photo, I would try for a longer exposure, at least half a second, for that smooth silky look, though this personal preference. Of course this means using a tripod (which I recommend for sharper images regardless of shutter speed). A remote release is also nice, but the cameras self timer works too. Also, maybe try to get a little lower in the stream and use some of those rocks as nice foreground elements. Don’t be afraid to get wet 🙂 Lastly, if there is one filter that should be in every landscape photographers bag, it’s a circular polarizer. Works wonders for reducing the reflections and glare on the waters surface and wet rocks. Also cuts a stop to a stop and a half of light to help get the longer shutter speed for that silky look to moving water.

    Again, sorry if I was too harsh, or overstepped.

    Keep shooting!

    Jeff

    • Thank you for your comments. I never claimed to be a professional. I agree that the photos would look better if I’d had better lighting but you can’t always sit around and wait on that golden hour. You have to take the shot when you’re there. That barn photo was actually taken while hanging out the window of a moving vehicle.

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        How very true. That makes a lot of difference. I didn’t know if you made the trip to these locations just to photograph them, or if you happened to be there and liked what you saw. If your at a location in the middle of the day, and know you won’t be back, your choices are pretty limited. Take the shot, or not.

        Out of a moving vehicle you say, Nice!!

  4. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  5. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  6. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  7. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  8. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  9. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  10. Northern Narratives says:

    I really like the last photo.

  11. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  12. I really liked the stream! Heard the water!

  13. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

  14. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Fitness, Food and Photography […]

Leave a Reply

