Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Autumnfest 8k – New PR

on November 23, 2012

So I signed up for this 8k over a month ago.  I’ve been looking forward to it and preparing for it for weeks now.  And then wham! I get hit with some sort of cold/sinus infection this week.  I can’t breathe through my nose, my sinus cavities hurt, and overall I just don’t feel good.  But was I going to let that stop me from running in this race?  Heck no!!  I just took some Sudafed and put my running face on.

The kids had a “Little Gobbler” run before the 8k.  It was only about 100 yards, but I signed Luke up for 2 reasons.  1- He got a t-shirt, and 2- I wanted to get him excited about running.  This would be his first race and since it was a short one, I knew he could do it.  He usually complains about his legs hurting when we walk more than a mile in our neighborhood, so I need to toughen him up.

I love that a Director of the KTC dressed up like a turkey!!  That’s awesome.

So, they changed the course this year and I didn’t have a chance to even look at it before we started the race.  I had no idea what to expect, other than I knew we were running through the streets of downtown Knoxville.  So I really shouldn’t have been surprised by how hilly the course was.

OH MY GOSH.  It’s Knoxville, people.  I guess if I want flat, I should move to Florida.

The start/ finish line was at World’s Fair Park.

endomondo app

I started off FAST.  The crowd, the excitement, it always helps me run a little faster than normal.  My first mile clocked in a 8:37.  But then there was a hill.  There were lots of hills.  I hate hills.

This was one of the last hills around mile 4.  It was also the worst hill.  Felt like it went on forever. There is a hill in the Knoxville Marathon around mile 7 at Noelton Drive.  If you know what I’m talking about, well, this was WORSE than Noelton.

Anyway, I got behind the turkey at the end and just had to snap a pic while we were running.  This was the home stretch.

Official chip time:  47:30

I placed 496th (of 929 runners).  I don’t believe they give awards that far back.  🙂

I was 33rd of 64 in my age group.

As a runner, I’m not competing with anyone but myself.  And I am very proud to say this was a PR for me!!  Despite the cold weather and despite the fact that I felt like crap, doped up on Sudafed, I still managed to push myself through the hilly course.  The distance isn’t a common one – 8k.  The last time I ran this race was in 2003.  My time was 54:52.  (I also seem to recall I had some IT band issues then too).

Regardless, it was a PR!!

I am very thankful that the whole family came with me for support.  The kids got to dance in the lawn and enjoy the post-race snacks.

That’s the post race tent.  And the building you see in the background (with the eyes), that’s the Knoxville Museum of Art.

We had a great time.  And I’m pretty sure I earned that pumpkin pie!!  🙂 🙂 🙂

3 responses to “Autumnfest 8k – New PR

  1. Congrats on the run and PR. It’s great that ypu are getting your son involved at an early age.

  2. Super job! Congrats on the new PR 🙂 You definitely earned any and all of the goodies you had yesterday!

Leave a Reply

