Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday – 12/12/12

on December 13, 2012

It’s Wednesday and you know what that means …  it’s time for What I Ate Wednesday.  Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for the link up!

As I mentioned in my previous post, it’s been a SUPER crazy week at work.  I had to do employee meeting’s at a client’s office every morning this week.  Normally, that’s not the problem.  The problem was this client is a manufacturing company so they have employees on all three shifts.  So in order to catch the third shifters before they leave and to catch the first shifters before they start, the meetings were held at 7 o’clock in the morning.  That also wouldn’t have been too terribly bad except that the client was also a 45-minute drive from my house.  I had leave by 5:45 every morning this week.  That’s more than 2 hours earlier than I normally leave.  Ouch.

As a result, my meal times were thrown off.  I ate breakfast really early, which meant I was ready for lunch MUCH earlier than usual.  The first two mornings, I just grabbed a Trader Joe’s ‘This Pumpkin Walked into a Bar’ cereal bar, which is yummy.  But it’s full of carbs and didn’t fill me up.

breakfast

So today I made sure I left enough time to make an egg sandwich with spinach on a Trader Joe’s whole wheat British muffin.

sunrise

Since I got up before the chickens, I drove to the client’s office in the dark.  The meeting was over and I was heading back to Knoxville while the sun was still rising.  I pulled over into a cemetery on the hill to take this shot.

snack

Since I ate breakfast at 5:30am, I was hungry for a snack around 10am.  That’s when I got out the carrots and wasabi peas.  I know it’s a strange combination for 10 o’clock in the morning, but I wanted some crunch.

spinach salad

Lunch was a homemade spinach salad with yellow peppers, broccoli, carrots, onions, sunflower seeds and southwest ranch dressing.  YUM!

salad2

And since I am also an Elf4Health, today’s challenge called for us to eat our veggies early in the day, not wait til dinner time.  No problem.  I think I successfully conquered that challenge!!  🙂

nutritionella
Quick shout out to my new Elf buddy, Claire, who lives in the UK and blogs over at Flake and Cake.  She is so sweet and I am having a fun time getting to know her.  She just posted her first WIAW post.  Check it out!
clouds

Aren’t the clouds pretty?

I also managed to get in a quick walk/run at Lakeshore Park after work today.  I wanted to do a clever 12-12-12 WOD but 3 miles was all I had time for.  Plus, I was so exhausted from all the early morning wake-ups, it’s kind of amazing I even worked out at all.

chicken noodle soup

Since I wasn’t feeling 100%, hubby made some homemade chicken noodle soup for me.  Hot, creamy soup – just what the doctor ordered!!  In case you are wondering, that’s sriracha sauce drizzled on the top.  (Love that stuff)!!  The only thing it was missing was a few fresh jalapenos.  Unfortunately we were out.  We’ll make this recipe again very soon and when we do, I’ll take pics and post it for you.

new shoes

And finally, I love my UPS man this time of year!!  Look what was waiting on me when I got home – NEW SHOES!!!  I just ordered them 2 days ago.  Now that is FAST!  I really wanted some of the minimalist shoes as my next running shoe.  But when one of the coupon blogs I follow posted this deal from 6pm.com, I couldn’t resist.  They were $24 shipped!!  I love the gray color too.  Merry Christmas to me.

3 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday – 12/12/12

  1. Hi, just found your blog through Jenn’s WIAW! That chicken soup looks so good and what a great deal for the runners!

  2. Runningdaze says:

    I put siracha on everything as well. 🙂 Awesome deal on the shoes and the soup looks so good!

  3. Thanks so much for the shout out Katie! Love your day of eats – you did AMAZINGLY on the veggie day with that lunch and the early morning snack :). Your new trainers look very pretty too!

Leave a Reply

