Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Updates, Thoughts and Budgeting

on January 6, 2013

To continue my last post from yesterday, there were a few more things I wanted to share with you:

First of all, remember that Maintain, Don’t Gain Wellness Challenge we had at work??  Well it’s over now.  I ended up gaining 2 pounds. 😦  But that’s not what I wanted to tell you.

So the participants in Option 1 only had to maintain their weight since November 1st or lose weight, otherwise they owed $25.  There were a total of 20 people participating.  6 of whom gained weight.  That meant the pot was at $150 for the winner.  And at the beginning of the challenge, I simply said anyone who lost or maintained would be entered to win a drawing of the pot.  But after speaking with all the participants, there was a clear winner.  One sweet lady actually lost 10 pounds from November 1st through December 31st.  She said that the challenge was the motivation she needed to step on the scales for the first time in a long time.  Once she did that, she worked very hard for the next 8 weeks.  I was so proud of her.  It’s hard to maintain your weight during the holidays and even harder to lose 10 pounds!!  I felt she deserved to win.  But I had agreed to do a drawing, so a drawing we were doing.  I wrote everyone’s name on a piece of paper and threw them in a bowl.  I had another coworker draw the name.  And I had an audience of at least 3 witnesses.  Guess whose name she drew??  The lady that lost 10 pounds!  Isn’t that awesome?!?  She totally deserved to win!

Okay, fine.  We can discuss my 2 pound weight gain.  Yeah, I’d love to say it was muscle.  It wasn’t.  It was most likely those damn Bourbon Balls I made.  I think I ended up eating the whole tin myself.  In case you are curious, here is the recipe:

candies

Bourbon Balls

1- 1/2 cup finely crushed Nilla wafer crumbs

1 cup finely chopped pecans

1 cup powdered sugar

2 T. unsweetened cocoa

1/2 cup bourbon

1- 1/2 T. light corn syrup

Thoroughly combine the first four ingredients.  (I use a food processor to get the cookes and pecans into a fine consistency).  In a separate bowl, blend bourbon and light corn syrup.  Stir this liquid into the dry mixture, and when well blended, cover and chill in the fridge for 1 hour or more.  Shape the dough into small 1-inch balls and then roll in a bowl of powdered sugar.  Store the balls in tins with tight-fitting lids.  They keep well refrigerated and can be frozen.  Makes about 2 dozen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

But  I am starting Bootcamp on Monday, January 7th with Tina Reale.  I am so excited!  I can’t wait to get these 2 pounds off, along with about 10 more!!

bootcamp_large

In other news, I’m so sad that the Elf4Health Challenge is over, which was sponsored by The Lean Green Bean and Nutritionella.  I’ve had so much fun meeting my 3 Elves:  Anna, Claire and Alyssa.  And I’ve really enjoyed all the challenges.  While I didn’t necessarily document all of them, I did participate in about 90% of the daily challenges.

nutritionella

In other news, hubby and I decided to go on a No-Spend January.  We’ve spent SOOO much money lately – on Christmas presents, on classes for him, certifications for him, classes for me, certifications for me, etc.  So this month we decided we would not buy anything unless it was a necessity (groceries, usual bills, mortgage).  The only loophole is if you are using a gift card, you may purchase a non-essential item.  (Good thing I got an Academy gift card for Christmas)!!  But it also means I’m going to miss out on the Victoria’s Secret Semi-Annual sale this year.  😦  Unfortunately I can’t make a good argument that lingerie is a necessity.  Anyone want to give me a gift certificate to VS???  lol   But this has made for some good arguments debates over what is considered a “necessity”:

Wine?  Is that a necessity?  It’s definitely up for discussion.

Fancy coffee??  What if I have a really good coupon??

Lunch out.  I mean, I do have to eat, right??

Date night?

Yep, already looking forward to February.  And those winter clearance sales!!  😉

Question of the Day:  Do you have a monthly budget?  Do you stick to it??

6 responses to “Updates, Thoughts and Budgeting

  1. Megan says:

    A no spend month will be awesome!! I typically will not open my wallet at all during the week unless it is on groceries. I buy everything I need on Sunday and I normally run out around Friday or Saturday and then I buy more food! I use mint.com to track spending, I will normally be a little lenient on the weekend like a meal out or a movie. For the most part I am totally frugal right now though!

    • That’s impressive that you don’t open your wallet during the week. Maybe I should just leave my credit cards at home. I got in a bad habit of shopping during my lunch break. I need to check out Mint.com – that’s a good idea!

  2. Thanks for the link! I had such a good elf4health with you :). A no-spend January is a brilliant idea, I was thinking of something similar because I so skint after Christmas and New Year. I’m so pleased the lady at work won the money too, funny how these things work out. Well done for organising such a good challenge and inspiring people to look after themselves 🙂

  3. We do the cash system to keep our spending in check. Put our budgeted amount in cash in an envelope for different categories and we have to use only that much per month on whatever area. It definitely makes me more mindful on spending money!

Leave a Reply

