Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Snow Day!!!

on January 17, 2013

When the meterologists were predicting snow, I didn’t believe them.  You tend not to when you live in the valley.  Usually it’s only the higher elevations that get the snow.

weather map

Schools let out early.  My office closed early.  And everyone was on the road at the same time trying to get home.  The interstate was a mess.  (Thankfully I took the back roads).

bush

I must admit …. normally, I am not a fan of the snow at all.  For one thing, it’s cold.  But also, us Southern folk can’t drive in it.  It really just makes a mess of everything.  But days like today make me giddy.  Why?  It’s Thursday.  And I don’t have a thing on my work calendar tomorrow.  So if this ices over, it could very easily be a 4-day weekend!!!  Now that makes me happy!!!  🙂

windshield

Within 30 minutes, my deck was covered.

deck

The kids LOVED it.   Not sure who was more excited …  them or me!

kids

This was Lucy’s first real snow fall.  At first, she wasn’t sure what to do.  But she quickly learned how to form a snow ball and then throw them at her brother!!

snowballs

But he was throwing them at ME!

snow covered trees

That’s the view past my driveway.  A winter wonderland.  So pretty!

sunset

The sunset tonight was amazing.  This picture doesn’t do it justice.  The snow clouds were so thick, but you can see the yellow peeking through the edge of the cloud cover, just over the ridge.  To the left, the sky was so red.  It was gorgeous.  But it was a view to be seen in person.  Cameras do have limits and this was one of them.

Question of the Day:  Do you like snow?  What’s your favorite thing to do on a snow day??  (I am predicting lots of board games and hot chocolate in my future.)

2 responses to “Snow Day!!!

  1. Megan says:

    How fun!!! I’m so jealous of your 4 day weekend! I personally dislike snow… I am a warm weather person and snow is so wet! I hate cold toes!

  2. […] Snow Day!!! (katiedaisy921.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

