Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday: 1/16/13

on January 17, 2013

Happy Wednesday, y’all.

(Of course, by the time I’m actually posting this, it’s already Thursday.  So who am I kidding?  I should just go ahead and say Happy Thursday).

Today’s breakfast is a little unusual (for me).  I normally have a protein shake.  But this morning, we had leftover Crustless Quiche from the previous night’s dinner.  There was one piece left and it was all mine.

Spinach, feta, yellow peppers, and eggs.  No crust.  Sooooooo good.  The entire family devoured it.  I will make it again very soon and when I do, I will post the recipe!
Spinach pie

Topped with a little salsa.

bite

For lunch, I was out with a client at Aubrey’s.

I didn’t want to whip out my camera in the middle of my working lunch, so you’re just going to have to imagine what the Cranberry Chicken Salad would look like.  (It was both beautiful and delicious)!

Here’s the description from the menu:

CRANBERRY CHICKEN Grilled chicken, dried cranberries, candied pecans, feta cheese, Red Delicious apple, fresh greens. 11

With balsamic vinaigrette on the side.  So yummy!!!

Healthy Living Kitchen

When I got back from lunch, the UT Medical Center’s Healthy Living Kitchen was doing a cooking demonstration at work!  They were talking about heart health, cholesterol and sodium.  Then he showed us some pretty mean knife skills.  How to chop a pepper so that you don’t waste any of it (very good to know)!  And then he made this Quinoa.

quinoa

So we all got to try their Quinoa Stir Fry.  Yummy.  (Though, I personally thought it needed a lot more heat.  Like maybe some sriracha sauce on top!!)

recipe

After work, I still had to go to the grocery store.  It wasn’t a dire situation … yet.  But it was close.  I had a hard time packing the 7-year old’s lunch yesterday morning.  We were out of a few essentials, so I had to improvise.  He got a hard-boiled egg in his lunch!  (Which is totally fine with him – he loves them.  It’s just not normally something most people would put in a 2nd grader’s lunchbox).

bird's eye voila

So since I got home from the grocery store around 7pm and still had to figure out dinner, I made it as easy as possible.  I love these little frozen meals by Birds Eye as a base.

skillet

Then I add in my own extra veggies and seasoning.  Last night it was extra broccoli and some of the OMG sauce from GGG Foods I was telling you about in my last post.  This gave it a little kick.

dinner

And then I added even more kick on my plate by topping it with the Sriracha sauce, of course!  🙂

Huy Fong Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce 28 Oz

I seriously love this stuff.  In fact, I had to buy more at the grocery store tonight because we had just run out.  I’m thinking about just carrying some with me in my purse so I always have it with me.  LOL  I’m kidding.  Sorta.  🙂

One response to “What I Ate Wednesday: 1/16/13

  1. I LOVE the look of your breakfast – so good! And candied pecans in a salad sounds beyond delicious, esp with cranberries too. I think a boiled egg is an awesome addition to lunch, bet his friends were envious 😉

Leave a Reply

