Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Best Body Bootcamp Recap – Week 3

on January 28, 2013

Well, the third week of Boot Camp is over.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t as diligent this week with my workouts.  I only did 1 of the 3 Strength workouts.  But I did do all of the cardio, plus some.  I don’t really have a good excuse, other than all my workout stuff is in the basement and it’s really cold in the basement.  Thankfully my treadmill is not down there or else I probably wouldn’t have done the cardio portions either.  🙂

bootcamp_large

Here’s my weekly recap:

Monday – 1/21

Strength workout

Tuesday – 1/22

Cardio interval with core workout

Wednesday – 1/23

100 burpee workout

Thursday – 1/24

rest day

Friday – 1/25

Friday we were stuck inside because of the ice storm.  So I jumped on the treadmill for a 45 minute cardio interval.  I alternated speed and incline every 5 minutes while watching The Biggest Loser on the DVR.

Saturday – 1/26

A repeat of yesterday with the same treadmill workout and finished out the same episode of the Biggest Loser.  I’m really into it this season.  This is actually the first season I’ve ever really watched.  Sure, I had seen bits and pieces before.  And honestly what turned me off before was Jillian.  I couldn’t stand listening to her yell at people.  But this time it’s a little different.  I’m watching with a different goal in mind.  I do like Bob, though.  And I like this new trainer, Dolvett.  And this season, I really like that they brought the kids in to tackle the childhood obesity epidemic.  If you’re not watching, you should check it out.

Sunday – 1/27

Another treadmill workout.  But this time, I mixed it up.  Here’s how it went:

Minutes 0 -5:  Walk 4.3mph on 8% incline

Minutes 5-10:  Run 6.5mph on 1.5% incline

50 air squats, 50 walking lunges

Minutes 10-15: Walk 4.3mph on 9% incline

Minutes 15-20: Run 6.5mph on 1.5% incline

25 push ups, 25 sit ups, 1 minute plank

Minutes 20-25: Walk 4.3mph on 10% incline

Minutes 25-30: Run 6.5mph on 1.5% incline

1 minute wall sit, 1 minute plank, stretch

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This coming week, I am going to try to stick to Tina’s prescribed workouts exactly as written.  If it’s cold in the basement, I’ll put on a sweatshirt.  No excuses.

In addition to the workout schedule, Tina also has you choose two goals for the week.  My 2 goals were to drink 64oz of water and take my vitamins daily (that’s one goal) and also to make sure to do my nightly routine every night, which includes taking my contacts out and washing my face, among other things.  I’ve gotten in a bad habit of falling asleep on the couch and then just crawling into bed without taking off my makeup or taking out my contacts.  (Yes, I know how bad it is to sleep in contacts.  In fact, I got a corneal abrasion several months ago because I was sleeping in my contacts.)  So I need this extra motivation to help me form a good habit at bedtime.  Or maybe if I win the $1,000 in the end I could use it towards Lasik so that I don’t have to worry with the contacts at all.  🙂

One response to “Best Body Bootcamp Recap – Week 3

  1. dorseyml says:

    I am watching, The Biggest Loser too.

Leave a Reply

