Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday: 2/13/13

on February 14, 2013

It’s Wednesday again ….  you know what that means!!  WIAW!  Always love the linkup, courtesy of Jenn at Peas and Crayons.
So this Wednesday started a little differently than normal.  My daughter had a doctor’s appointment at 9am.  So hubby and I took advantage of the delayed start to finally go and get our blood work done.  (My company will put $1,500 into a Health Reimbursement Account if you complete a biometric screening.  It’s part of our Wellness program).  This is a fasting blood draw which means … no coffee til after it’s over.  I didn’t realize just how addicted I actually was til I couldn’t have it.

The whole plan actually worked out perfectly.  The lab was one exit down from her doctor’s office.  The blood draw was quick and easy.  When we were done, we still had 30 minutes to spare before we needed to be back for her appt.  Unfortunately our only close breakfast options were either Subway or McDonalds.  So we chose Subway, of course.  And actually, I’m glad I did.  I was worried about what kind of back-room nasty coffee they would have, but it was Seattles Best Coffee.  It was yummy!

We got a footlong and all 3 split it. (Since during the month of Feburary ALL footlongs are $5)  It’s bacon, egg white and cheese on flat bread with spinach and olives and a small squeeze of ranch.  Delish!!

subway

Too bad I had to share….   But isn’t she a cute breakfast date?!?  I don’t mind sharing with that adorable face.

breakfast date

She was overjoyed when she realized that Mickey was on TV at the doctor’s office.  As you can see, she brought her own Mickey with her.  She is absolutely obsessed with Mickey.  I think we need to get this girl to Disney World STAT!

So you can just imagine the fit she pitched when they came for her before the episode was over….  But it was fine.  The appointment went really well.  She was approved for some speech therapy – once a week til her 3rd birthday.  I’m excited for this girl to start talking.  (Of course, I’m sure once she does, we’ll be wishing we hadn’t taught her). lol

watching Mickey

Busy morning.  I was back at work by 10am.

Since I had spent my “lunch hour” at the doctor’s office this morning, I ate lunch at my desk.  I had some carrots, an apple, greek yogurt, and some Trader Joe’s Wasabi Trek Mix.  Yum.

lunch

And all of that fiber filled me up.  I didn’t even have a desire to snack on anything during the afternoon hours, not even the chocolate chip cookies that a carrier rep brought us!!!

Today is my third day of doing the Jillian Michaels Detox Water.  Basically, it’s 60 ounces of water with a tablespoon each of lemon juice and cranberry juice, along with dandelion root tea bag.  It doesn’t taste bad at all.  In fact, it goes down quite smoothly.  I have to split it up between 2 Nalgene bottles (32oz each).

detox water

The first day, I was really tired.  I wondered if that was a side effect of the detox.  But today is Day 3 and I feel great.  In fact, I do think I have a bit more energy.  Of course, it could also have something to do with the 40 oz of coffee I had this morning.  (That second 20-oz-er had an extra “Shot” of caffeine in it too).  lol

I had so much energy, in fact, that I raced home and jumped on the treadmill for an awesome interval workout.

treadmill workout

While I was on the treadmill, hubby was making dinner!!!  Love him!!!

bbq chicken

This is a shredded BBQ chicken sandwich with slaw and homemade sweet potato fries.  The chicken had been in the slow cooker all day.  It was delicious!!!   (Of course I have to top mine with sriracha sauce and jalapenos, cause that’s just how I roll)  🙂

So today is Ash Wednesday and I’m trying to decide what to give up for Lent.  I’m thinking either ice cream or french fries.  I don’t normally eat french fries or potatoes of any kind, but lately I’ve had a little more than my fair share.  I can’t give up coffee.  I won’t.  I’ve tried saying “all sweets” before, but that’s just too hard.  Inevitably, anything I give up, I decide it’s the ONE thing I absolutely have to have.

Question of the Day:  What are you giving up for Lent???

Leave a Reply

