Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday: 2/20/13

on February 21, 2013

Happy Hump Day everyone!!  Who is ready for a little sunshine and warm weather??  I know I am!!  It was just a ‘blah’ day outside today.  And it was much colder than expected.

This morning, we were in a bit of a hurry to get out the door.  So that meant we didn’t have time for our usual kale shakes.  😦

Instead, there was leftover scrambled eggs with spinach in the fridge.  So I heated it up, placed it atop some fresh spinach; dabbed some red pepper jelly on a Trader Joe’s British muffin, and called it breakfast.  Not too bad.

egg sandwich

Lunch was at my desk:  almonds, yogurt and a hard-boiled egg.

lunch collage

Yes, you read that correctly ….  coffee flavored almonds  !!!!  But wait.

I really had high hopes for them.  I mean, I love coffee. And I love almonds.  I especially love Blue Diamond!  So how could you go wrong?!?  But sadly, I was disappointed.

Read it again.  It’s roasted coffee.  Maybe that was the problem.  I’m not sure.  I think I’ll stick with the other Blue Diamond flavors I love so much (like wasabi, habanero BBQ, honey dijon, lime & chili, etc etc)

By the time I got home, I was exhausted.  Could not stop yawning.

I declared a no-cook night.  Thankfully there was a Newman’s Own pizza in the freezer for the kids.  (I tried a bite of Luke’s and it was pretty good)!

frozen pizza

And I made myself a big salad.  With sriracha, of course!!  No dinner is complete without sriracha!  🙂

big salad

I have to include a photo of the sunset.  You know I’m obsessed with sunsets.

sunset tonight

And finally, I will leave you with a funny story ……

I will occasionally leave notes in my son’s lunchbox or hubby’s lunch bag.  I just like the surprise of finding a little love note later.  So yesterday morning, I was sitting at my desk and I needed something from my purse.  I reached in, only to discover that Luke had left me a love note!!

How sweet, I thought.  Then I read the note …..  I couldn’t stop laughing all day …….

love note

“I hope you get the orange off” ….  he’s referring to the fact that my hands are a little orange after my spray tan.  I had gone after the kids were in bed.  So he didn’t even know I had gotten a spray tan.  The next morning I was fixing his breakfast when he noticed my hands.  Honestly, they aren’t THAT bad.  But I will say – it was my first ever spray tan.  Now I know to put a little more of the barrier cream on the hands and feet next time.  That is, if I go again.  I mean,  I like the look of the tan, but I did not like the experience.  The claustrophobic little capsule and the spraying in the face – it’s enough to traumatize a person.  Ok, maybe I’m being a little dramatic.  All I could think about before walking in was that episode of ‘Friends’ where Ross forgets to turn.  Thankfully, I turned.  🙂

Question of the Day:  Have you done a spray tan before?   And what is your favorite flavor of almonds??

3 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday: 2/20/13

  1. I used to love it when my mom would write me notes in my lunch box. That rarely happened because I had to pack my own lunch in elementary school. But sometimes when it was my birthday my mom would be extra nice and pack it for me. And then I’d find one of her little heart-shaped sticky notes inside with a sweet note. So cool. Love that you got one from your son.

    Never tanned or spray tanned before. I’m not sure I ever will. Real tanning freaks me out because of all the dangers, and spray tans freak me out because I think I would be the girl that comes back looking orange.

    • Aww – that’s kinda sad that you had to pack your own lunch, but then again – I bet you got exactly what you wanted!! I don’t always ask my son what he wants in his lunchbox and sometimes I’ll find the carrots are still sitting in there the next morning. Oh, and the whole spray tan freaked me out a little too. I was soooo nervous walking in there. Now that I’ve done it, I think I will do it again, but not on a regular basis. Maybe just for a special occassion when I’m feeling particularly pale. But the good news is – there’s a cream you can add to the spray to ensure you don’t turn orange. I didn’t do it – it was an extra $7. And, the girl told me that if I absolutely hated it, I could come back the next day and they could take it off. So that made me feel a little better.

Leave a Reply

