Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

What I Ate Wednesday: 3/13/13

on March 14, 2013

Wednesday.  My favorite day of the week.  Why?  You get to see what I ate today.  🙂

I know some people use the WIAW post to share pictures of the food they’ve eaten this week or over the weekend.  But I take the ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ title very seriously.  This is literally what I ate on Wednesday ….  Most of this was posted on Instagram (katiedaisy921), so if you follow me, you’ve probably already seen all these pictures …..

So today was Day 2 of the Fitfluential Diet Bet.  And I am very motivated to keep it up right now.  So I started the day with one of my famous Kale Protein Shakes.  These are seriously my favorite breakfast.  High in protein, high in vitamins, and very filling.  YUM!

kale protein shake

I sipped on it in the car.   Thankgoodness for heated seats or I’d be an icicle by the time I got to work drinking that frozen shake.

Despite the cold temperatures, it was a beautiful morning.

sunrise

We took a client out for lunch today.  This particular client works in an area where there aren’t a lot of restauarant options.  Since it’s standard practice to ask the client where they would like to eat, I have to just go along with the decision.  The client chose O’Charley’s, which is probably one of my least favorite restaurants.

I immediately jumped on the internet to check out the nutritional data.

Good thing I did, too.  The salad I would have ordered, the Chicken Apple Spinach Salad, had over 1,000 calories and 71 carbs!!  Yikes!  So instead I got the California Chicken Salad, a half order with the dressing on the side.

And you know what?  It was actually really good.  I would order that again.  Now, I don’t mean I am going to drive to O’Charley’s just to get that salad.  But if someone forces me to eat there again, I know which salad I’m getting!

california chicken salad

I was really craving a sweet snack this afternoon.  Thankfully, I had this Trader Joe’s dark chocolate bar in my desk.

No, I didn’t eat the whole bar.  I had one little square, I swear.

afternoon snack

I really wanted to get a long run in this afternoon.  But today was the one day of the week when the temperatures dipped down in the 40’s (while the rest of the week was supposed to be in the 60’s).  So I opted for an inside workout today, so I can save my run for a warmer day.

Max Interval Circuit was the video I chose for today.  I think I sweated more in just the warm up than I would have if I’d gone running!!  Insanity is no joke!  That’s tuff stuff.  But I loved it!!

insanity workout

After the workout, it was time for some dinner.  I was starving!!

Usually, I will make tacos on Tuesday night (just because I love alliteration and ‘Taco Tuesday’ has such a nice ring to it.)  🙂

But we didn’t do the tacos on Tuesday and my kids were asking for them.  So I turned my taco into a salad.

This was so quick and easy ….  the time it took to make was just the time necessary to brown the ground chicken.

Here’s the ‘before’….

salad before dressing

And the ‘after’ ….  with ranch dressing and sriracha squeezed on top.

taco salad with ranch and sriracha

And here are my kids eating their double decker tacos.  I swear, neither one of them can keep their shirts on.  LOL

kids eating tacos

Well, there you have it …. Wednesday’s eats. I also managed to drink about 60 oz of water today. I was shooting for around 80 oz, but didn’t quite make it. I am proud that I didn’t have any snacks after dinner. I had gotten in a bad habit of spreading some Trader Joe’s cookie butter on a graham cracker (or two) before bed. But since we started the Diet Bet, I’m going cold turkey on the cookie butter!!

Questions of the Day: What did you eat on Wednesday?? Have you tried Insanity? And what is your favorite bedtime snack??

2 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday: 3/13/13

  1. Some great eats here and I’m exactly the same – my WIAW posts are exactly what I ate on one day. You have such fab self restraint when it comes to chocolate, theres no way I could have stopped at one square of caramel coconut chocolate!

Leave a Reply

