Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Diet Bet Results and Shoe Review

on April 10, 2013

Do you remember me telling you about the Diet Bet I was doing?  Well, Wednesday was the last day.  We needed to submit our final weight by midnight.  The deal was we had to lose 4% in 4 weeks.  And I am very happy to report that both hubby and I made it!  I only had to lose roughly 5 pounds, and he needed to lose around 10.

Here’s a little secret … I actually woke up on Wednesday morning and was 0.2 pounds over my goal weight.  I knew the numbers had to be exact.  So what did I do?  Well, I only had yogurt for breakfast, yogurt for lunch and then went for a hot and sweaty run after work.  It was 85 degrees outside.  (And it was also only 3 days after the Half Marathon, but my legs felt great.)

hot sweaty run

That did it.  It put me under the goal!  Was it cheating?  I don’t think so.  I also don’t think I should have lost $25 over two-tenths of a pound when I had legitimately lost 4.8 pounds already.  Plus, my original weigh-in was at night.  So it’s actually only fair that I weigh at the same time of day.  Right?

I received the confirmation email that our $25 bet turned into a $44 winning.  Yay.  Not too shabby.  So how did we celebrate our win?  With a burger and fries.  LOL

homemade burger

So what did I think of the Diet Bet?  I thought it was quite motivational.  And I think I might do it again.  But the next 5 pounds won’t be as easy to lose.  It also helped that I was (sorta) training for the Half Marathon.  Maybe I need to find another race to train for in the coming month.  (What??  I can’t believe I’m saying that!)

One thing I didn’t tell you about the race was that was the FIRST time I ran in my brand new shoes!  Yes, it was a huge risk.  But I knew if I ran in my old shoes I would definitely get blisters.  They give me blisters even on a short run.  I knew they wouldn’t last for 13.1.  So I visited a local running store a week before the race to get fitted for new shoes.  We tried on a number of different brands – Adidas, Asics, Brooks, Saucony, etc.  But the minute I put my foot in the Mizuno Wave Prophecy, I knew they were the ones!!  I asked the shoe guy if it was crazy to buy a brand new pair of shoes a week before the race.  He said not if it’s the right pair!  Hmm.  Interesting.  Well, these were definitely the right pair!!

mizuno wave prophecy

If you’ve never actually had your foot measured and evaluated at a specialty shoe store, I highly recommend it.  I’d always just ordered my shoes online.  I always ordered a Size 7 because that’s what I wear in every other pair of shoes.  But did you know that you should order a 1/2 size up on a running shoe?  I didn’t know that.  Part of the problem with the old shoes is that they were too tight!!  No wonder they gave me blisters.  I also thought I was an overpronator, as most people are.  So I would specifically search out the shoes that were good for overpronation.  But that was wrong, the shoe guy told me I have a neutral foot.  So I needed a neutral shoe.  I had no idea!!

new shoes

These are the most expensive shoes I’ve ever purchased!  But in my opinion, they were worth every penny.  They carried me through the race with no issues.  I was also told that these shoes will last twice as long as others because it doesn’t break down.  So that’s worth the extra money too.  If you have a neutral foot, I highly recommend the Mizuno Wave Prophecy!  I think I’ve found my new favorite shoes.

Questions of the Day:  Have you ever raced in brand new shoes?  What is your favorite brand of running shoe??

Leave a Reply

