Fitness, Food and Photography

Follow me on my road to fitness… Because it's all about the journey, not the destination.

Weekend Recap: Sleepover and Meatloaf

on January 7, 2013

Why do weekends always seem to go by so quickly???  Too quickly.

I discovered something yummy this weekend.  Probably something I shouldn’t have discovered.  But I’ll share it with you anyways.  Well, it’s more like a confession of sorts.  I dunked these Anna’s Thins into my coffee and it was really yummy!  When I was a kid, I used to dunk cookies in milk.  But I don’t drink milk anymore.  So I really haven’t dunked anything in a long time.  I don’t know what possessed me to dunk the cookie in my coffee, but oh what a treat it was!!  Now I can’t buy those Anna’s cookies anymore.  🙂

coffee and cookies

On Saturday night, one of Luke’s friends was spending the night.  Normally we do a pizza for a sleepover, but instead I decided to do Meatloaf.  But this special meatloaf tastes like a pizza!!

Here’s a picture of the 12-year old recipe.  When we worked at First Union Securities together back in the day, my friend Chris wrote down this recipe for me.  When I got it out on Saturday night, I realized it had been a long time since I spoke to her.  So I texted her just to say hi.  We worked side by side for 11 years up til last year. And I’ve hardly talked to her this past year. It’s sad when close friends drift apart.

recipe

In case you can’t read that, here’s the recipe:

Pizza Meatloaf

Ingredients:
1 pkg Lipton Onion Soup Mix  (optional) – I didn’t have this on hand so instead I used about 2 tsps each of Oregano, Basil and Garlic Powder.
2 pounds ground beef  (I used Laura’s Lean – 94% lean)
1 -1/2 cups of bread crumbs (mine were Italian flavored by Kroger brand)
2 eggs
1/2 cup chopped peppers (combination of green and red)
1 cup pasta sauce
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
Combine all ingredients except 1/2 the sauce and 1/2 the cheese
Shape into loaf pan.  Top with remaining sauce.  Then bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.
Sprinkle with remaining cheese and bake another 10 minutes.  Then let it stand for 10 minutes after you take it out.
You almost can’t mess it up.  I think it would be good with olives or mushrooms in there too (or anything else you might put on top of a pizza).

dinner

Thankfully my daughter was feeling a bit better this weekend.  She loved her some comfort food – meatloaf, mashed potatoes and cornbread!!

There were veggies too …. broccoli and cauliflower, just none made it onto her plate.

family plus one

The boys LOVED it!!!!  They cleaned their plates, even the broccoli and cauliflower.

So remember all those home remedies I told you about in my last post?  Well, they didn’t work on Saturday night.  She woke up crying about 5 times between midnight and 3:30am.  Finally at 3:30am, I took her downstairs and stayed up with her.  It was the perfect opportunity to catch up on Revenge.  I’d heard a lot of people talking about this show, but I didn’t start it last year when it came out and now it’s in the Second season.  But guess what?!?  Season One is on Netflix!!  If you have Netflix, I highly recommend you start from Episode 1.  It is SUCH a good show!!  I am totally hooked!  I’m almost done with the first season.  Now I need to figure out how to catch up on Season 2.

salmon salad

Salmon Spinach Salad

So Sunday was more or less a rest day.  I still managed to get some cleaning done.  And some laundry.  Nothing too crazy.  Bathrooms require more energy than I had yesterday so those did not get done.

I did enjoy a yummy lunch with my leftover salmon.  I threw it on a bed of spinach with some mushrooms, carrots, grape tomatoes, red peppers, feta cheese and jalapenos, topped with sriracha sauce (of course).  It was delicious!

After a nice nap, I bundled up the babe and took her for a walk in the neighborhood.

bundled up for walk

Yeah, she doesn’t look sick, does she???

And when we got back, we all enjoyed some warm beverages.  Hot chocolate for the kids and hot tea for me.  With marshmallows of course!  🙂

warm drinks

Questions of the Day:  1) What food do you serve at sleepovers??   2) Have you watched Revenge?   3) And what is your favorite hot beverage??


5 responses to “Weekend Recap: Sleepover and Meatloaf

  1. I adore marshmallows in hot drinks, esp a hot choc 😉 my favourite hot drink at the moment in Yogi Tea Women’s Health – so, so good.

  2. […] guess it was my pizza meatloaf last weekend.  I’ve been meaning to make another one after it disappeared so […]

  3. […] dinner was easy.  I simply heated up leftovers.  Last night I made the pizza meat loaf again.  It’s sooooo […]

  4. Megan says:

    I love the idea of a pizza meat loaf!

  5. […] was in the mood to cook.  But the only meat we had left in the fridge was ground beef.  So I made pizza meat loaf.  One of the kids’ favorites!!  (And possibly mine too).  With mashed potatoes and steamed […]

Leave a comment